
•     Private Placements 
 
Section 1707.03(Q) of the Act provides an exemp-
tion for transactions not involving a public offering 
pursuant to section 4(2) of the federal Securities 
Act of 1933. The “3(Q)” exemption is available 
where: there is compliance with section 4(2); sales 
commissions are limited to 10% and paid only to 
securities dealers and salespersons licensed in 
Ohio; a Form 3-Q is filed with the Division within 
60 days of the date of sale in Ohio; and a filing fee 
of $100 ($50 for subsequent filings within the 
same calendar year) is paid to the Division. A copy 
of the offering materials is required. 
 
Section 1707.03(X) of the Act provides a exemp-
tion for transactions not involving a public offering 
that are within the “safe harbor” of federal Rule 
506. In order to qualify for the “3(X)” exemption: 
there must be compliance with federal Rule 506; a 
federal Form D must be filed with the Division 
within 15 days of the date of sale in Ohio; commis-
sions are paid only to securities dealers and sales-
persons licensed in Ohio; and a filing fee of $100 
must be paid to the Division. 
 
 Private Offerings of Commercial Paper and 

Promissory Notes 
 
Section 1707.02(G) of the Act provides an exemp-
tion for the sale of commercial paper any promis-
sory notes that are not offered exemption is very 
narrow in scope and directory or indirectly to the 
public. This has limited applicability. An adminis-
trative rule adopted by the Division provides that 
there is no offering “directly or indirectly to the 
public” where the commercial paper or promisso-
ry notes are sold to officers, directors or partner of 
the issuer; to persons who control the manage-
ment of the issuer; or to not more than ten per-
sons in a twelve month period; commissions are 

paid only to securities dealers and salespersons 
licensed in Ohio. No filing with the Division is re-
quired to this exemption. 
 
 Private Offerings Up To $5,000,000 
 
Section 1707.03(W) of the Act provides an exemp-
tion for private offerings up to $5,000,000 pursu-
ant to federal Rule 505. In order to qualify for the 
“3(W)” exemption: there must be compliance with 
the conditions of Rule 505; sales commissions 
must be limited to 12% and may be paid only to 
securities dealers and salespersons licensed in 
Ohio; aForm3-Wmust be filed with the Division at 
least five business days prior to the first use of 
offering materials; and a filing fee of $100 must be 
paid to the Division. 
 

COORDINATION WITH FEDERAL EXEMPTIONS 
 
Keep in mind that all securities sold in Ohio also 
must be properly registered or exempted under 
federal law. Like the Act, the federal securities 
laws contain certain exemptions from securities 
registration. Following is a list of the Ohio registra-
tion or exemption provisions that may correspond 
to the federal exemptions most commonly used 
by start-up or small businesses: 
 
 Regulation A 
 
Like all other states, Ohio does not have an ex-
emption that directly corresponds to the federal 
Regulation A exemption. As a result, Regulation A 
offerings not otherwise exempted must be regis-
tered by coordination with the Division. 
 
 Section 4(2) 
 
Section 1707.03(Q) of the Act generally provides a 
companion exemption for offering transactions by 

an issuer not involving a public offering pursuant 
to Section 4(2) of the Securities Act of 1933. 
 
 Rule 504 
 
An issuer relying on the federal Rule 504 exemp-
tion that wishes to advertise its offering and issue 
freely transferable stock must register the offering 
with the Division and deliver a disclosure docu-
ment to potential investors. 
 
 Rule 505 
 
Section 1707.03(W) of the Act generally provides a 
companion exemption for an offering up to 
$5,000,000 pursuant to federal Rule 505. 
 
 Rule 506 
 
Section 1707.03(X) of the Act generally provides a 
companion exemption for private offerings. 
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There are many legal considerations in the start-up 
and operation of a small business. For example, deci-
sions must be made regarding the legal structure of 
the entity (corporation, partnership, etc.), there are 
tax considerations, and filings must be made with 
various government agencies. In Ohio, the 1st Stop 
Business Permit Center (800-248-4040) provides 
Start-Up Business Kits that contain information re-
garding many of these legal requirements. 
 
When a business or venture issues ownership inter-
ests (such as stock or partnership interests), debt 
obligations (such as bonds or promissory notes) or 
otherwise seeks to raise money by promising a re-
turn to investors, the federal and state securities 
laws apply. This brochure provides some basic infor-
mation about the Ohio securities laws. Additional 
information may be obtained by contacting the Ohio 
Division of Securities at the address, telephone num-
ber or website listed on the back of this brochure. 
Information about the federal securities laws may be 
obtained from the federal Securities and Exchange 
Commission, 1-800-SEC-0330, http://www.sec.gov. 
 
This brochure provides only a basic introduction to 
the Ohio securities laws, and is not intended, and 
should not be construed, to be a substitute for con-
sultation with competent legal counsel. State and 
federal securities laws apply to all transactions in 
and dispositions of securities, and violations of ap-
plicable laws can lead to civil and criminal liability. 
As a result, transactions in and dispositions of secu-
rities should be carried out only after consultation 
with competent legal counsel. 
 

AN OVERVIEW OF THE OHIO SECURITIES ACT 
 
The Ohio Securities Act (the “Act”) is set out in Ohio 
Revised Code Chapter 1707. The Act is administered 
and enforced by the Ohio Division of Securities (the 
“Division”) and applies to all “sales” of “securities” in 
Ohio. “Sale ” is broadly defined to include every dis-

position, and every attempt to dispose, of a security. 
“Security” is broadly defined to include typical in-
struments like stocks, bonds, options and promissory 
notes, and also includes instruments that constitute 
“investment contracts.” Ohio courts have held that 
an investment contract exists anytime that: (i) an 
offeree furnishes initial value to an offeror; (ii) a por-
tion of this initial value is subjected to the risks of 
the enterprise; (iii) the furnishing of the initial value 
is induced by the offeror’s promise or representa-
tions which give rise to a reasonable understanding 
that a valuable benefit of some kind, over and above 
the initial value, will accrue to the offeree as a result 
of the operation of the enterprise; and (iv) the offer-
ee does not receive the right to exercise practical 
and actual control over the managerial decisions of 
the enterprise. As a result, the concept of “security” 
includes a wide range of investment opportunities. 
 
If the Act applies, there are three basic aspects: (i) 
the person selling the securities must be licensed 
with the Division or properly excepted from licen-
sure; (ii) the securities being sold must be registered 
with the Division or properly exempted from regis-
tration; and (iii) anti-fraud standards apply and pro-
hibit fraudulent tactics, including false representa-
tions and omissions, in the sale of securities. Keep in 
mind that similar aspects of the federal securities 
laws also apply.  
 

THE ACT’S ANTI-FRAUD STANDARDS 
 
The fraud proscriptions of the Act are very broad and 
include prohibitions on, among other things: false 
representations, omissions, the filing of false infor-
mation with the Division and the use of any device, 
scheme or artifice to defraud or obtain money or 
property by means of false pretenses. Violation of 
the anti-fraud standards can result in civil liability 
and severe criminal punishment. Certain types of 
securities fraud constitute “predicate acts” under 
Ohio’s criminal “RICO” statute. 

THE ACT’S LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 
 
The Act requires that all securities “dealers” and se-
curities “salespersons” be licensed by the Division, or 
properly excepted from licensure. In general, a deal-
er is an individual or entity who is in the business of 
buying and selling securities for compensation. In 
general, a salesperson, commonly known as a stock-
broker, is a natural person authorized to buy and sell 
securities on behalf of a dealer. Importantly, in most 
cases, an issuer of securities, including its officers, 
directors and employees, is excepted from the Act’s 
licensing requirements. As a result, a start-up or 
small business that wishes to sell its own securities 
may not have to comply with the Act’s licensing re-
quirements. Competent legal counsel should be con-
sulted to determine whether such an exception to 
the licensing requirements exists.  
 
The Act also requires that “investment advisers” be 
licensed under federal or Ohio law, or be properly 
excepted from licensure. In general, an investment 
adviser is an individual or entity that is in the busi-
ness of providing advice regarding securities. In most 
cases, employees of an investment adviser firm, 
known as “investment adviser representatives” must 
also be licensed by the Division. There is no excep-
tion for issuers from the investment adviser and in-
vestment adviser representative licensing require-
ments, although in many cases issuers will not be 
required to be licensed because they are not “in the 
business” of providing advice. 
 
 

SECURITIES REGISTRATION, AND EXEMPTIONS 
FROM REGISTRATION, UNDER THE ACT 

 
Perhaps the most important consideration for a start
-up or small business that wishes to issue securities 
is the fact that all securities sold in Ohio must be reg-
istered with the Division, or properly exempted from 
registration. 

SECURITIES REGISTRATION 
 
In general, there are three ways to register securities 
with the Division under the Act. An issuer that is reg-
istering securities with the SEC under the Securities 
Act of 1933 can file a registration by coordination 
with the Division.  An issuer that is making an offer-
ing that involves a limited number of purchasers or 
limited selling efforts can file a registration by de-
scription with the Division. Issuers that are not eligi-
ble for registration by coordination or registration by 
description pursue registration by qualification with 
the Division. 
 

EXEMPTIONS FROM SECURITIES REGISTRATION 
 
Issuers of securities often seek to fit within an ex-
emption from the securities registration require-
ments. The Ohio securities laws contain over 40 
different exemptions from the securities registration 
requirements. The exemptions commonly available 
to start-up and small businesses are: 
 
 Ten or Fewer Purchasers 
 
Section 1707.03(O) of the Act provides an exemption 
for the sale of equity securities by the issuer to ten 
or fewer purchasers in Ohio who the issuer reasona-
bly believes are purchasing for investment. There is 
no limit on the dollar amount raised. No general ad-
vertising is permitted, and sales commissions are 
limited to 10% and may be paid only to securities 
dealers and salespersons licensed in Ohio. No filing 
with the Division is required for this exemption, but 
the Division recommends that reliance on this ex-
emption be memorialized in the corporate records.  
 
 
 
 
 
 




