
 

Questions Pertaining to obtaining a State of Ohio Plumbing Permit 
1. Plumbing Permit 
information 

A plumbing permit is required for any plumbing project within the State’s 
jurisdiction. 2 sets of stamped Plumbing Prints are required. 
 
*See State jurisdiction for Plumbing Permits at www.com.ohio.gov, Plumbing and 
Backflow section at the Division of Industrial Compliance web page. 
 

2. How long does it take 
get the approved drawing 
back? 

The Plumbing Plan review is completed in 1 – 2 weeks of receiving the plans.  
Walk-in Plumbing review: the plan is reviewed and approved the same day  
Electronic Plan Submission: Must have the capabilities to upload plans via the 
internet( within 2-5 days) www.com.ohio.gov  

3. After approval, when 
can I begin construction? 

 

You may begin construction once your project has been approved and the State 
approved plans/documents are on the project site. 

4. How do I schedule 
Inspections 

You may schedule an inspection by calling 1-800-822-3208 Monday thru Friday 
8:00 am – 3:15 pm. Please have your CPA number; the contacts person’s name and 
phone number ready when making the call. 
 
Do not schedule an inspection if the work is not ready to be inspected. A re-
inspection fee of $100.00 could be charged if the inspector has to re-schedule 
the inspection. 

5. Plumbing Inspections 
for Salons 

A Plumbing Permit is required by The Board of Cosmetology’s 
requirements.(Please check local jurisdiction first) 
 
If there are any changes or additions being made to the existing plumbing system 
then a Plumbing Permit requiring plans must be submitted for review. 
 
If there has been no changes to the existing plumbing a Permit not requiring 
plans (Special) can be submitted 
 
 

Questions Pertaining to Plumbing Inspector Certification for Health Departments Only 
6. What is the minimum 
job experience?  

7 years experience as a plumber 

7. What is the Process The process is posted on our web site www.com.ohio.gov , Plumbing and 
Backflow section at the Division of Industrial Compliance Web page 

8. Is a test required to 
become certified 

Yes. The test is open book and consists of an approve/disapprove section and a plan 
review section. 

9. What is the minimum 
score to pass the test? 

You must pass written, approve/disapprove and review sections of the exam to 
become certified. A score of 70% or higher on each individual section is required. 

10. Is there a fee? Yes.  There is a $100.00 non-refundable fee due when the State of Ohio 
Application is submitted. Once certification is obtained a recertification fee of 
$60.00 is due yearly with 10 hours of continuing education units. (CEU) 

11. Where are the 
examinations given? 

The examination is given at the: 
       Division of Industrial Compliance 
       6606 Tossing Rd., Reynoldsburg, OH  43068 

http://www.com.ohio.gov/
http://www.com.ohio.gov/
http://www.com.ohio.gov/


Questions Pertaining to Plumbing Inspector Certification for Health Departments (Cont.) 

12. When are the 
examination offered 

Examination is offered all year by appointment only  

13. How will I 
receive my test 
results 

If you receive a passing score of 70% or higher you will receive you 
certificate and a letter by regular mail. 
 
If you receive a score of 69% or below you will receive a letter by 
regular mail explaining the re-exam or review process. 
 

14. How long does it 
take to get my results 

1 to 2 weeks 

15. How long is the 
certification good for 

The certification is good for 1 year 

Questions Relating to Backflow Tester Certification 

1.  How do I obtain 
an application for 
Backflow 
Certification 

You may obtain an application from our web site www.com.ohio.gov, 
Plumbing and Backflow Section at the Division of Industrial 
Compliance Web page. 
You may also contact the Division of Industrial Compliance @ 1-800-
523-3581 and ask for the Plumbing Section 
 

2.  Where is the 
Backflow 
Certification Exam 
given 

The Backflow Certification exam is given every 3rd Monday of each 
month unless there is a State Holiday occurring then. If that is the case, 
the exam is given on 3rd Tuesday of the month. 

3. What is the first 
step of the process 

The first step of the process is to obtain and submit a backflow 
application. There is a $100.00 non-refundable fee due at the time of 
submission. After approval you will receive a training agency list. 
Contact one of the agencies listed to obtain the 24 hours of class 
required. 

4. What is passing Passing is a score of 70 % or higher.  

5. When will I know 
my results from the 
exam? 

Within a week you will receive a letter stating if you passed or failed 
the exam. Upon passing a $75.00 - 3 year certification fee is due. If 
failed you may re-exam the following month. A non-refundable $50.00 
re-exam fee is due prior to retaking the exam. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.com.ohio.gov/


Questions pertaining to Welding and Brazing qualification procedures &  records 

1. What does the 
State of Ohio require 
in regard to welding 
and brazing? 

The State of Ohio requires every welder performing work in Ohio to be 
registered with the State of Ohio. All contractors or employers are the 
responsible parties to register their procedures and welders. 

2.  What is the 
process? 

• Contact an independent testing lab to establish procedures and to 
qualify your welders and/or brazers. 

• Procedures and qualification tests should be sent to the 
Department of Commerce/Plumbing Section 

• Make sure that a representative of your company signs all 
procedures and qualifications. 

• The Procedure record fee is $60.00 per procedure 
• The Welding and Brazing qualification record fee is $15.00 per 

qualification.  
• Checks should be made payable to the: Treasurer, State of Ohio. 
• Upon approval, a stamped copy of each item will be returned to 

you. 
• Procedures do not expire.   
• “Proof of Continuity” is defined pursuant to ASME section IX, 

the boiler and pressure vessel code as the performance 
qualification of a welder or welding operator shall be affected 
when one of the following condition occur: 

• When he or she has not welded with a process during a period of 
      6 months or more, his qualifications for that process shall expire.
• A welder has welded using a manual or semiautomatic   

          welding with that process: 
• A welding operator has welded with a machine or automatic 

process which will maintain his qualification for machine and 
automatic welding with that process. The manufacturer, 
contractor, owner or user shall have available at the job sit the 
approved performance qualifications and “proof” of 
continuity of all welders and brazers employed on job site. 

• Please maintain records of all approved procedures and 
qualifications. 

• If there are any further questions please contact 1-800-523-3581 
and ask for the Plumbing Section. 

 


