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Ohio Revised Code Advertising Rule Modified

n cooperation with the Ohio Associa-

tion of REALTORS (OAR), the Ohio

Real Estate Commission recentiy
proposed modifications to the Ohio
Administrative Cede advertising rule.

Effective April 1, 2000, the new rule
defines Internet advertising, specifies the
manner in which such advertising shall be
conducted and addresses a licensee’s
responsibility for the accuracy of informa-
tion on a website within the licensee’s
ownership and/or direct control. The rule
further provides the limits under which a
licensee may advertise the listing of
another licensee. The substance of the rule
is broken down into 5 major areas:

Definition of Internet Advertising. The
rule provides that Internet advertising
conducted by a licensee falls within the
same statutory requirements as regular
advertising. For example, a licensee who
has a website advertising listings must
ensure that the broker’s name is at least as
equally prominent as the salesperson’s
name,

Advertisement of a Listing Belonging to
Another Broker. The rule specifies that,
for new listings obtained on or after April
1, 2000, & licensee shall not advertise or
alter any informational part of a listing
that is not listed with that licensee’s
broker. The only exception {s with both of
the following:

1. The licensee wishing to advertise a
lsting belonging to another broker
must obtain the written consent of
the property owner or the owner’s
authorized agent, and

2. Disclose in the advertising the name
and phoene number of the listing
salesperson and the name and
phone number of the listing broker.

Removal and Update Requirement for
Information on Websites. The rule
provides that whenever information
advertised on a website becomes cutdated

The rule provides
that Internet adver-
tising conducted by
a licensee falls
within the same
statutory require-
ments as regular
advertising.

or expires, the website must be updated
within 14 days of the information becom-
ing outdated or expired. Additionally, each
home page of a licensee’s website must
show the date the website was last
updated.

Third Party Website Administration.
The rule requires licensees, who have
their website maintained by a third party;
1o provide the third party website adminis-

trator timely written notice via mail, fax or
electronic means, of any outdated or expired
information, so that changes may be
effectuated within the 14 day requirement.
The rule further specifies that licensees shall
not be responsible for faflure to meet the 14
day requirement if the third party website
administrator fails to effect a requested
change as notified.

Brokerage Name on Every Viewable
Website Page. The rule specifies that alt
licensee Internet advertising of any real
estate or services must disclose the name of
the broker on every viewable web page of
the website within the licensee’s ownership
and/or control. The rule also defines a web
page as a page that may or may not scroli
beyond the borders of the screen.

The enforcement of advertising violations
will be through a citation system, proposed
in the Real Estate Modernization Bill, H.B.
524. The legislation proposes the creation of
a citation system, whereby a citation will be
issued for each advertising violation, Similar
to a traffic ticket, if the citatien is not
disputed, a fine will be levied, Should the
citation be disputed, the case would be
transferred to the enforcement division for
processing through normal disciplinary
channels. Unti] passage of H.B. 524, alleged
advertising violations will continue to be
addressed in the same manner the Division
handles all other possible violations of
license law. The full text of the new
advertising rule is currently available in the

" Publications and Bulletins section of the

Ohio Division of Real Estate’s website at:
hitp://www.com.state.oh.us/real/.



Understanding Co-Broking Expectations

Although Chio real estate license law
does not specifically mandate that
brokers cooperate with other brokers,
many do engage in ce-broking because it
is the custom in the area or because the
local board of REALTORS may regaire it.
On the other hand, some brokers are
hesitant to co-broke because they do not
wish to share the commission with
another broker. Whichever is the case,
you must remember that you cannot
refuse to present an offer to a seller
unless otherwise instructed by the client/
seller. No matter what you may think of
the proposed terms, the offer must be
conveyed to the seller for consideration.
If you choose not to co-broke, this fact
needs to be stated in the listing agree-
ment so that the seller is fully aware of it
and gives consent. Additienally, accord-
ing to Rule 1301:5-6-03, the type of
cooperation offered by the brokerage

must be written into the company policy.

The policy must clearly indicate
whether the broker offers subagency or
compensation to subagents and buyers’
brokers; whether the broker accepts
compensation from other brokers; and
whether ali types of cooperation are
offered in a consistent and equal basis to
ali brokers (and if not, it must clarify to
which brokers cooperation is not of-
fered).

The only reason you would not present
an offer to a client is if he or she has
instructed you to do otherwise. A ciient
may not want to be bothered with offers
for less than 80% of the appraisal value.
Always get these kinds of client instruc-
tions in writing to avoid misunderstand-
ings.

If a dispute arises in which a broker
feels entitled to a percentage of another
broker’s commission, the local board or

the courts will handle it. Tt is not within
the jurisdiction of the Division of Real
Estate to settle commission disputes
between brokers. The division’s regula-
tory authority over comimission disputes
is limited to investigating the underlying
transaction to insure it was handied
properly, and investigating aliegations of
the broker failing to pay the salesperson
his or her earned share of a commission.

Outside Testing Update

On January 3, 2000, the division’s outside
testing program began. Since that time,
all real estate and appraiser examinations
have been administered through Experior
Assessments, LLC. The examinations are
conducted at Sylvan Technology Centers
and are given at individual stations using
a computer. There are 11 Sylvan testing
centers conveniently located throughout
Ohio, as well as centers in Michigan,
Pennsylvania, West Virginia and Indiana.
A real estate sales applicant was the first
to take one of the new examinations on
January 4th at the Centerville location.
The applicant successfully completed
both pertions of the sales examination.
The application process for real estate
salespeople, brokers and appraisers has
rerained the same, All applications
should be checked to ensure complete-
ness and accuracy prior to mailing.
Copies of education documentation, the
required photo, and required fee must
accompany the application, i the
application is not complete in any way,
the application approval process will be
delayed. The division’s application fees
are: $49.0C for the initial and retake real

estates sales examination; $69.00 for the
initia} and retake brokers examination;
and $125.00 for the appraiser examina-
tions. A separate additional fee must also
be paid to Sylvan at the time each
examination is scheduled.

The applicant approval notification
process has been fully computerized. The
division notifies Experior of the
applicant’s eligibility to take the re-
quested examination. Experior forwards
an approval letter to the applicant. This
letter is accompanied by a Candidate
Information Builetin that contains
complete information regarding the
examination procedures and the availabie
exam sites, The applicant is responsible for
scheduling an examination time with the
Sylvan Center of the applicant’s choice.
After an applicant completes the examina-
tion, test results are provided immediately.
If successful, a pass letter is issued. If not
successful, a fail letter is issued that
includes a printout of areas to study. A
retake application is included with the fail
letter. Successful real estate applicants will
have a license prompily sent to their broker
within three working days.




Website Creates
interactive Forms

Because 0 many offices no longer have
typewriters, the division now accommo-
dates them with its interactive forms. All
real estate broker and sales associates
forms, appraiser forms, and foreign real
estate forms can be filled out on the
website and printed. When submitting a
form obtained from our website, be
careful to proofread each item, sign the
form, and include the appropriate fee.
The website address is:
www.com.state.oh.us

Cease and Desist
Order Issued

Acting as a real estate agent without a real
estate [icense violates Section 4735.99 of
The Ohio Revised Code and is a first degree
misdemeanor. Despite this prohibition, the
division stili finds evidence that unlicensed
people and companies engage in activities
reguiring a license. Most often the division
issues Cease and Desist orders in these .. .
cases, but if offenders continue fo engage
in the unlicensed conduct, the division
may ask the appropriate local prosecutor to
consider initiating criminal action.

Since the last newsletter, the following
company has been issued a Cease and
Desist order:

Rent Today
251 Tuxedo Ave.
Brooklyn Heights, OH 44131

Task Force Update

The final report of the Canons of Ethics
Review Task Force was presented to the
Real Estate Commission during its January
meeting. The task force recommended
rescinding several outdated sections of the
Canons, modifying others, and eliminating
those sections which are redundant with
the Chio Revised Code. They alsc proposed
future considerations for amendments or
modifications to Ohic law,

New Testing Method Allows More
Reciprocity Agreements

Because of Ohio’s new testing structure,
comprised of two parts and conducted by
an outside source, the division is
contacting states that may be interested
in entering into a limited reciprocity
agreement with Ohio. The division will
contact the 38 states with the same type
of exam process in early 2000 to see
which ones are interested in establishing
a reciprocal arrangement.

Up until the end of 1999, Ohio had full
reciprocity with West Virginia and
Kentucky, meaning that a licensee from
either state wishing to obtain an Ohle
real estate license needed only to make a
successful application. No other testing

was necessary. The same was also true
for an Ohio licensee seeking a license in
either state.

The proposed limited reciprocity
agreements will require the successiul
applicant with a license from another
state to take the portion of the exam that
deals with Ohio laws and complete the
Ohio law portion of the pre-ticensure
education requirements. The reverse
would be true for Ohio applicants seeking
licensure in other states. In fact, Ohic has
entered into a limited reciprocity agree-
ment, effective February 1, 2000, with
Kentucky. Reciprocity agreements in
place for appraisers will not change.

Frequently Asked Agency

Questions

What should an agent do -
when a buyer or seller refuses
to sign an agency disclosure
statement?

Sometimes a buver or seller wiill
AO not sign the disclosure state-

® ment because he/she feels it is
binding or that it is creating a coairactual
relationship. Whatever the reason, with a
refusal, the licensee is {¢c make note on
the form of the date of refusal, the person
refusing to sign the form, and the reason
for the refusal (if known), The form must
then be turned into your broker or office
manager, The document must be retained
as part of the brokerage records for three
vears,

Should a dual agency disclo-
sure statement be signed at
the same time as an agency
disclosure statement?

No. The agency disclosure

AO statement should be ex-

@ ecuted in advance of the
dual agency disclosure statement. When
working with a buyer, the agency
disclosure statement should be executed
prior to showing the property. When
working with a seller, the agency
disclosure statement should be executed

with the listing, marketing, or showing of
the property. In either case, you establish
that you are working singularly with the
client. If you end up representing both
the buyer and the seller in a proposed
transaction, it is at that time that the dual
agency disclosure statement is executed.







Positions Not Changed

Many see the year 2000 as one of change;
nowever, the commission and Superinten-
dent want to make it ciear that some
things will rermzain the same, For example:
% The commissicn continues to
maintain 4 “no tolerance” position
when it comes to licensees advertising
property as being available through an
absolute auction when in fact a
minimum bid must be secured in order
for the property to sell. Absolute
means jusi that—absclute--no
minimum bid and no contingencies. i
there are “strings attached,” the
auction must be 30 advertised, with
the disciosure most frequently being
made noting the auction is “with
reserve,” The commission fully
expects the auctions o be held in
accordance with the advertised terms.
4 Absent a closing, a mutually signed
release, or contract language clearly
setting forth procedures for the
disbursal of a deposit, earnest money

deposits are to remain in the brokerage
trust account. Who the buyer or seller
might be has no bearing on this
position. This specifically includes
HUD properties. If a dispute regarding
a deposit cannot be resolved, the
deposit can be turned over to the court
through an interpleader action.

4 Inducements are permitted as long
as they are clearty disclosed as a2
consideration in the purchase agree-
ment. inducements to Hst property that
cannot be received unless the property
sells must also be disclosed as a
consideration in the purchase agree-
ment. Inducemenis provided at the
time of listing a property that are in no
way linked to any eventual sale of the
property do not have to be reciied in
the purchase agreemeni. However, it is
strongly recommended that this type of
inducement be clearly recited in the
listing agreement,

So You Think You Should Be Paid

Like agency, fees should be discussed up
front with customers and clients, If you
have no fee agreement with a party, don’t
expect the Real Estate Commission to
support vour quest for a payment.

Too often licensees provide services to
buyers and sellers without ever discuss-
ing agency or compensation for the
services, These services might include:
conducting a market anaiysis to arrive at
a potential listing price; searching records
to find areas with long established
appreciation patterns; providing advice as
to what repairs or improvements should
be made prior to marketing a property;
and researching school systems to
determine if special programs are
available. The licensee may provide these
services expecting to then represent the
buvyer or seller, and ultimately earn a
commission; however, things don't
always work cut as planned.

For whatever reason, a buyer or seller
may proceed to utilize another agent or
continue on his/her own, When this
happens, many agents. believe they
should be compensated for the time,
energy, and can’t expend “experiise”, .
However, more often than not, there was
ne discussion regarding any compensa-
tion for providing these services and
there was no agency relationship created
between the parties. To request, invoice,
or otherwise demand a fee when there
has been no advance discussion has
resulted in disciplinary action being
taken against a broker’s license. It is the
broker's license that is ultimately subject
to disciplinary action as fees can only be
demanded and collected in the name of
the broker and with the broker’s knowl-
edge and consent. '

So if you want to get paid for the se_rviceé
provided, plan ahead.

Credit Card
Pilot Program

The division is currently participating in
a pilot program for credit cards. Those
walking into our Columbus office can
nNow pay any necessary fee with either
MasterCard or Visa. 1t is anticipated the
program will be expanded to allow for
credit card payments for future mail and
electronic application filings, We will
keep you updated on our progress.

Did You Renew Your
License ?

Every year, some brokers neglect to
renew their ficenses for the upcoming
year. The last date for filing a renewal
with penalty was January 15, 2000. If
your renewal was not filed with the
division by that date, the brokerage
license and all sales licenses associated
with it were cancelled effective December
31, 1999, All licenses not renewed must
be returned to the division immediately
to finalize the cancellation process. '
Should any non-renewed broker or
salesperson seek to become relicensed, a
reinstatement application with the
appropriate fee must be submitted to the
division. Both the broker and sales
reinstatement applications are available
in interactive form on our website at
www.com.state.oh.us. Forms can also be
obtained by cailing our Customer Service
Section at (614) 466-4100.




Disciplinary Actions

REVOCATIONS

DAVID L. DAILY, sales associate,
Cincinnati, Ohio, had his sales
license revoked upon reinstatement
for violating Section 4735.18(A}(6} of
the Ohio Revised Code. Mr. Daily
coliected earnest money checks for .
various real estate transactions, but
failed to have the deposits he re-
ceived from these transactions placed
into his brokerage’s trust account,
Instead, he had the funds deposited
into his personal checking account.

PHILLIP J. GERMANY, broker/sales
associate, Cleveland Heights, Ohio,
had his license revoked, effective
immediately, for violating 4 counts of
Ohio Revised Code Section
4735.18(A){6), and for violating
Sections 4735.18({A)(12) and (A)(26)
of the Ohio Revised Code. Mr. Ger-
many {ailed to consistently deposit
funds, received by him in a fiduciary
capacity, into the real estate broker-
age trust account. In addition, he
failed to establish and maintain (in
1996,) a properly designated property
management trust account. Also, Mr.
Germany used an agreement form
that referenced the Board of REAL-
TORS, a private professional organi-
zation, which at the time he was not
a member of, and used an obsolete
agency disclosure form.

SUSPENSIONS, FINES, EDUCATION

THOMAS T. HOMAN, broker,
Coldwater, Qhio had a fifteen (15)
day suspension of his license, which
commenced on October 18, 1999,
$1,300.00 in fines levied against his
license; and was required to complete
and to submit proof of completion of
the ten {10) hour brokerage post-
licensure course for violating 2
counts of Section 4735.18(A)(6) of
the Ohio Revised Code. Mr. Homan
entered into a written agency agree-
ment (listing) for property that did
not contain the specific fair housing
language required by Section 4735.55
of the Ohio Revised Code. In addi-
tion, he fatled to provide the owners
of a property with an Ohio agency

disclosure form prior to his marketing
the property. He furnished the
company’s policy on agency, but did
not furnish an agency disclosure
form. Once a buyer was found who
was interested in the property and for
whom he wrote an offer, he then
finally prepared the agency disclosure
form for both parties” approval.
JOSEPH P. COPEN, sales associate,
Parma, Ohio, had a thirty (30) day
suspension of his license, which
commenced on Ociober 18, 1999;
$500.00 in fines levied against his
license; and was required to complete
and to submit proof of completion of
the ten {10) hour sales post-licensure
course for violating Section
4735.18{A}(6) of the Ohio Revised
Code. In connection with a listing
agreement for property he had listed,
Mr. Copen prepared an Ohio agency
disclosure form indicating that he
represented the owner/seller. An offer
was submitted, and on the agency
disclosure form he noted that he
would represent the buyer as the
buyer’s agent. Since he was repre-
senting the buyer and the seller, he
became a dual agent and should
have completed the dual agency
disclosure statement as soon as
practical. However, Mr. Copen did not
proceed with the preparation and
affirmation of the appropriate dual
agency document until several weeks
after a purchase agreement had been
entered into.

THOMAS H. HELSON, broker,
Sidney, Ohio, had a ten {i0) day
suspension of his license, which
commenced on October 18, 1999;
$500.00 in fines levied against his
license; and was required to complete
and to submit proof of completion of
the ten (10) hour brokerage post-
Heensure course for violating Section
4735.18(A}(6) of the Ohio Revised
Code. Mr. Helson failed to oversee the
day to day operations of his broker-
age, in that he did not timely rein-
state a licensee’s license, never
notified the licensee that he/she
could not act as a real estate agent

until he/she reinstated the license,
and failed o take action to verify or
assure the licensee was not acting as
a real estate agent while not properly
licensed.

CARL M. CONWELL, sales associ-
ate, Toledo, Ohio, had a ten (10) day
suspension of his license, to com-
mence upon reinstatement, for
violating Section 4735.18{A){6) of the
Ohio Revised Code. Mr. Conwell
prepared and submitted an offer
from himself for the purchase prop-
erty, but he failed to prepare and
submit to the selier an Ohio agency
disclosure form with the offer as
required by Section 4735.58(C) of the
Revised Code.

BARBARA J. TRUMAN, sales
associate, Cleveland, Chio, had a
$100.00 fine levied against her sales
license for violating Section
4735.18{A)(6) of the Ohio Revised
Code. In arranging for the listing of a
property, Ms. Truman changed the
term of the listing without the written
acknowledgement of the seliers. She
also re-dated the Hsting and other
associated documents after her sellers
had already signed the documents,
and in such a way so that they were
misleading or inaccurate,

STEPHEN A. SOLER, sales associ-
ate, Columbus, Ohio, had a (15} day
suspension of his license, which
commenced on November 23, 1999; a
$200.00 fine levied against his
license; and was required to complete
and submit proof of completion of
the ten (10) hour sales post-licensure
course for viclating Section
4735.18(A){6) of the Ohio Revised
Code. Mr. Soler engaged in conduct
requiring a real estate license during
a period when his license wasin a
cancelled status.

BOBBY R. JOHNSON, broker,
Cincinnati, Ohio, had a $500.00 fine
levied against his license and was
required to complete and to subrnit
proof of completion of a 3 hour
course on real estate laws for violat-
ing Section 4735.18(A)(6) of the Chio
Revised Code. Mr. Johnson failed to

@




prepare an Ohio dual agency disclo-
sure statement in connection with
two separate and distinct offers to
purchase property in transactiens for
which he was a dual agent.

MARY ANNE LEE, sales associate,
Cincinnati, Ohio, had a thirty {30}
day suspension of her license, which
commenced on November 23, 1999; a
$500.00 fine levied against her
license; and was required fo complete
and submit proof of completion of
the ten {10} hour sales post-licensure
course for violating Ohio Revised
Code Sections 4735.18(A)(6) and
{A){9) as it incorporate Chio Revised
Code Section 4735.21. Ms. Lee
received funds from the executors of
an estate {funds that were paid to her
for conduct requiring a real estate
license) which included property
management activity and marketing
the real property of the estate. Ms.
Lee received these funds in her own
name and not in the name or
with the consent of the real estate
broker with whom she was licensed
at the time. Also, during a time when
her real estate license was in a
cancelled status, she engaged in
conduct requiring a real estate
license.

DANIEL H. RUSSELL, sales associ-
ate, Centerville, Ohio, had a $100.00
fine levied against his sales license
for violating Section 4735.18(A)(24)
of the Ohio Revised Code. Mr. Russell
failed to retain in his file a signed
agency disclosure form relating to a
failed transaction in accordance with
the three-year record retention
requirements of Section
4735.18{A)(24) of the Ohio Revised
Code.

JEANNINE C. WIRKS, sales, East
Liverpool, Ohio, had a $500.00 fine
levied against her license for violating
Section 4735.18{A) (6) of the Ohio
Revised Code. Ms. Wirks prepared
and submitted an Ohic agency
disclosure form indicating she was
representing a buyer as the buyer’s
agent. Since the sellers were repre-
sented by another agent in her
brokerage, an in-company transaction
was created; however, she failed to
complete the in-company portion of
the form.

GINA L. PARADISE, sales associate,
Beavercreek, Ohio, was required to
complete and to submit proof of
completion of a three hour course on
agency for viclating Section
4735.18{A)(6) of the Ohio Revised
Code Section. Ms. Paradise listed
property for sale and presented the
owner with an Ohio agency disclo-
sure form, but failed to identify
whom she or her brokerage would be
representing. Thereafter, an offer was
made through her for the purchase of
the property and she provided the
buyer with the incomplete agency

-disclosure form that did not identify

whom she would be representing.
Ms. Paradise was acting as a dual
agent, but failed to use the appropri-
ate form.

RICK E. TAYLOR, sales associate,
Cleveland, Ohioc had a $500.00 fine
levied against his license and was
required to complete and to submit
proof of completion of the ten {10)
hour sales post-licensure course for
viglating Section 4735.18(A) (6) of the
Ohio Revised Code. During a period
when Mr. Taylor’s real estate license
was in a cancelled status, he contin-
ued to advertise property for sale and
hold himseif out as a licensed real
estate agent.

SMYTHE, CRAMER CO., corpora-
tion, Cleveland, Ohio, had a
$1,000.00 fine levied against the
corporate license for violating Section
4735.18{A)(6) of the Ohio Revised
Code. During a period when one of
its real estate agent’s license was
cancelled, the company failed to have
the individual’s name removed from
its published advertisements, causing
it to appear as though the person was
licensed with the company; when, in
fact, the person was not.

ART LEE REALTY, INC., corpora-
tion, Columbus, Ohio, had a $500.00
fine levied against the corporate
license for violating Section
4735.18(A) (6) of the Ohio Revised
Code. The company aitempted to
pursue a broker’s lien pursuant to
Ohio Revised Code Section 1311.85,
but was netified that no basis for the
lien existed. The element set forth in
Ohio Revised Code Section 1311.87
(AY{1)(a) i.e.(the broker is entitled to

a fee or a commission under the
contract) had not occurred. However,
the company took no action to
determine whether the lien was
prematurely filed and failed to
promptly remove the lien from the
property.

WHITNEY B. DILLON, broker,
Columbus, Ohio, had a fifteen (15)
day suspension of his broker’s
license, which commenced on
December 29, 1999; a $1,000.00 fine
levied against his license; and was
required to complete and submit
procf of completion of the ten (10)
hour brokerage post-licensure course
for violating Section 4735.18{A}{6) of
the Chio Revised Code. Mr. Dillon
collected a real estate commission in
his own name rather than in the
name of the broker with whom he
was associated at the time.

MARY M. DILL.ON, sales associate,
Columbus, Ohio, had a fifteen (15)
day suspension of her license upen
reinstatement; a $1,000.00 fine levied
against her license; and was required
to complete and submit proof of
completion of the ten (10} hour sales
post-licensure course for violating
Section 4735.18{A) (6) of the Ohio
Revised Code. Mrs. Dillon collected a
real estate commission in her own
name rather than in the name of the
broker with whom she was associ-
ated at the time.

HENRY R. STOUDERMIRE, JR.,
broker, Cleveland, Ohio, had a sixty
{60} day suspension of his broker’s
license, which commenced on
December 29, 1999; a $1,500.00 fine
levied against his license; and was
required to complete and to submit
proof of completion of the ten (10)
hour brokerage post-licensure course
for violating 2 counts of Section
4735.18(A)(6) of the Ohio Revised
Code. Mr. Stoudermire failed to
maintain all listing documentation,
including agency documentation;
failed to promptly deposit earnest
money in the brokerage’s trust
account; and noted incorrect informa-
tion on an offer. In addition, he noted
on an agency disclosure form that he
was representing only the purchaser;
however, as a broker for the com-
pany, he was a management level




licensee and acting as a dual agent. He
failed to prepare and submit te the
purchasers an Ohic dual agency
disclosure statement disclosing the
dual agency status.

ANDREW N, SIERS, sales associate
Hiiliard, Ohio had a $300.00 fine
levied against his sales license for
viclating Ohio Revised Code Section
4735.18(A){6) as that section incorpo-
rates Ohio Revised Code Section
4735.58(B}(1}(c). Mr. Siers failed to
prepare and submit to a purchaser an
Ohio agency disclosure form prior to
showing a property.

$2100% REAITY THE MONEY
SAVERS, INC., corporation,
Middleburg Heights, Ohio, had
$1,000.00 in fines levied against the
corporate license for violating 2 counts
of Ohio Revised Code Section
4735 18{A) (6}, one as that section
incorporates Ohio Revised Code
Section 4735.16{B) and Ohio Adminis-
trative Code Section 1301:5-1-02. An
assaciate of the brokerage published
advertising that did not include the
broker’s name. In addition, the

associate’s name was improperiy
identified creating the false impression
that another associate was licensed
with the brokerage. Also, the company
failed to accurately oversee the
brokerage’s advertisements and
disregarded previous directives from
the agency on these matters. Finally,
the company failed to consistently
advertise in the name in which it was
licensed.

RON THOMPSON, sales associate,
Zanesville, Ohio, had a fifteen (15)
day suspension of his license which
commenced on December 29, 1999; a
$500.00 fine levied against his license;
and was required (o complete and
submit proof of completion of the ten
(10) hour sales post-licensure course
for viclating Sections 4735.18{A}(6)
and (A}{9) of the Ohio Revised Code.
Mr. Thompson collected a finder’s fee
in connection with the purchase of
property. He collected this fee directly,
and not in the name of, with the
consent of, the real estate broker with
whom he was Hcensed at the time,

FRANK R. WATSON, JR., broker,
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Brook Park, Chio had a sixty {60} day
suspension of his broker’s license
which commenced on December 29,
1999, for violating 2 counts of Ohio
Revised Code Section 4735.18(A}(6)
and 2 counts of Ohio Revised Code
Section (A){34), as in effect prior to
January, 1997. Mr. Watson authorized
and/or permitted an individual to
receive a commission and/or fee for
providing services requiring a real
estate license when he knew, or
should have known, that this person
was not licensed as a real estate agent.




