
I am a real estate broker in a state that DOES NOT have a reciprocal 
  agreement with Ohio.  How can I obtain an Ohio real estate broker’s 

license?  

Qualifications for an Ohio Broker’s License:   
  1. Applicant must hold an active broker’s license for two of the last five years.  

  2. Applicant must take four pre-licensure courses in a classroom setting at an 
institution of higher education:   

•  Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours) 
•  Real Estate Principles & Practices (40 hours) 
•  Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours) 
•  Real Estate Finance (20 hours)   

  3. Applicant must possess a minimum of two years of post-secondary education, or a 
total of sixty (60) semester hours or ninety (90) quarter hours from an accredited 
college or university.  

  4. Take the following four required courses at an accredited college or university. 
These courses may be included in your post-secondary education:  

•  A Financial Management course 
•  A Human Resources or Personnel Management course 
•  An Applied Business Economics course 
•  A Business Law course  

An applicant for an Ohio broker’s license should submit: 
  1. A Broker Examination Application  with $100.00 fee    

2. A Consent to Service of Process  form 
3. A letter of good standing from the state of licensure. 
4. Proof of completion of the four pre-licensure courses.
5. College transcripts, which include a minimum of two years of post-secondary 

education, or a total of sixty (60) semester hours or ninety (90) quarter hours, 
including a Financial Management course, a Human Resources or Personal 
Management course, an Applied Business Economics course and a Business Law 
course.  

When the Division receives a complete application, the applicant’s information will be sent to 
the testing vendor. The testing vendor will process the information and send a Candidate 
Information Bulletin with instructions on scheduling the test.  

The applicant must pass both the State and National portions of the Ohio Real Estate Broker 
exam in order for a license to be issued. Passing score: 75  

NOTE: Principal brokers shall be required to maintain an active place of business in the 
reciprocal state and escrow/trust accounts as required by the statutes of both states. The place 
of business must be a physical location. A post office box is not acceptable. 
 
 
 
 
Updated 10/2009  

http://www.com.ohio.gov/real/docs/real_COM3578BrokerLicenseExaminationApplication.pdf
http://www.com.ohio.gov/real/docs/real_COM_3637_Consent_to_Service_of_Process_000.pdf



