
Real Estate FAQ’s

How do I notify the Division of a personal change of address?

You can either complete a change application - individual form (COM3628) or send an email to 

web.real@com.state.oh.us with the following information: current address, new address (PO Boxes not 

allowed without a physical address on file) and file/license number.

May I use a PO Box as my business address?

PO Boxes are not allowed without a physical address on file.

May I start a virtual office in Ohio?

No.  A real estate company is required to maintain a definite place of business in Ohio.  

How do I subscribe to the Division newsletter?

   Please send an email to web.real@com.ohio.gov requesting to be added – it’s that easy! Please 

be sure to add us to your address book so we don’t get routed to your spam or junk folder.

How do I renew my salesperson license?

1. Submit renewal fee $135.00 
2. Submit copies of completed 30 hours of CE
3. Complete and submit a renewal application – COM3681
4. All paper work must be submitted or postmark on or before your CE due date

 

How do I renew my broker license? 

1. Submit renewal fee $180.00  
2. Submit copies of completed 30 hours of CE 
3. Complete and submit a renewal application – COM3681 
4. All paper work must be submitted or postmark on or before your CE due date 

 

How do I renew my salespersons license if it is in a suspended status?  

1.  Submit renewal fee $227.50 
2. Submit copies of completed 30 hours of CE 
3. Complete a Transfer/Reactivation application and Education Compliance form COM3572 
4. Have broker return original license 
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How do I renew my broker license if it is in a suspended status?  

1.  Submit renewal fee $295 
2. Submit copies of completed 30 hours of CE 
3. Complete a Transfer/Reactivation application and Education Compliance form COM3576 
4. Return company license 

 
How long are pre-licensure courses valid? 

 Pre-licensure courses are valid for ten years from the date each course was taken. 

What is the best advice you can give me about answering the seven legal and ethical questions on a 

Division form or application if I am unsure whether I should answer yes or no? 

 When in doubt, answer YES and explain fully the circumstances in an attachment to your 

application. 

I am a broker for a real estate company that does not engage in property management.  However, my 

salespeople would like to start offering property management services on their own.  Is this OK? 

 No.  A salesperson must run any and all property management and/or leasing activities through 

the broker with which the salesperson is licensed.  If the salesperson offers property management on 

their own, they would be in violation of license law. 

I am not due to renew for another year but I have finished all of my continuing education.  Can I send 

in my renewal paperwork and money now? 

 No.  The earliest you may file your renewal is two months prior to your renewal deadline. 

How can I find out my CE due date? 

 License information can be found at the Division of Real Estate’s website 

(www.com.ohio.gov/real) by visiting the eLicense Center and choosing Lookup License Information.  

The lookup is a search engine where users can access information by the last name or license number.  

Simply choose Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing from the “Board” dropdown.  Then 

submit a last name or license number to see the issuance date and CE due date information.  You may 

also call the Division at (614) 466-4100 or TTY/TDD (800) 750-0750. 

I received an advisory letter.  What should I do next? 

 Read your letter carefully!  Your advisory letter serves as a warning and will tell you what actions 

you took that are a minor violation of license law and what actions you should take in the future to 

prevent you from repeating or compounding that violation. 
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Does a listing agent have to advertise “agent/owner” if the agent is a principle in the company that 

owns the property? 

 Yes.  The agent would need to disclose that information in any advertisement. 

Can the completion of my 10 hour post-education requirement count toward my 30 hours of required 

continuing education? 

 No, your 10-hour post-licensure education and continuing education are two different 

requirements.  You may begin taking continuing education prior to completing your 10 hour post-

licensure though. 

Do I need to submit any documentation to the Division to show that I have completed my 30 hours of 

continuing education, or is the online roster posting enough information? 

 You must submit copies of your continuing education completion certificates to the Division to 

show that you have completed the required coursework.  If you do not submit those certificates to the 

Division by your continuing education due date, your license will be placed into a suspended status. 

If I submit more than the required 30 hours of continuing education coursework to the Division, can 

the extra hours count toward my next continuing education requirement? 

 Any roll over hours, up to 10 hours, will be considered elective hours – they cannot count 

toward the nine required core class hours. 

How can I tell which course-types I have completed fulfill the three hour Core Law, three hour Civil 

Rights, three hour Canons of Ethics and 21 hour elective continuing education course requirements? 

 Once you complete a course, you will see a course certification number on your course 

completion certificate.  The certification number includes a letter that serves as a course-type 

designator: 

 D – Core Law 

 G – Civil Rights 

 C – Canon of Ethics 

 E – Elective* 

 F – Computer Specific (elective)* 

 B – Computer Basic (elective)* 

  *A licensee may only take a maximum of 15 hours of computer electives 

 

 



Must I disclose a familial relationship that I have with my client? 

 Yes, pursuant to ORC 4735.57 you must do so if you are acting as a dual agent. 

Must a phone number for the broker or brokerage appear in the broker’s printed advertising? 

 No, there is no specific requirement that this appear in the broker’s printed advertising. 

Is it permissible for a licensed salesperson in a team to pay another licensed salesperson in a team a 

commission for activities requiring a license? 

 No.  Ohio Revised Code (ORC) 4735.20 and (ORC) 4735.21 implicitly provide that commissions 

shall only be paid in the name of the brokers to the broker’s salesperson. 

My broker asked me to just sign my application and told me he would fill out the form and send it in.  

Is that OK? 

 No.  You are responsible for the accuracy of the answers on any of the forms you certify by 

signing. 

What services may my unlicensed personal assistant provide?    

  If your personal assistant is unlicensed, that individual may provide only clerical support 

services.  They may file, take messages, and schedule appointments.  An unlicensed personal assistant 

may not provide property-related information or services. 

 I’d like to advertise using my nickname.  What nicknames are permitted in advertising? 

  Licensees must be licensed in their legal name and advertise using the name on the 

licensee.  However, for advertising purposes, licensees may advertise their name or nickname in several 

different ways:  

1)      A commonly accepted derivative of the licensee’s first name: Christopher/Chris, 
Suzanne/Susie  

2)      A licensee’s first name abbreviated as an initial with the licensee’s full middle name as it 
appears on the license: Name on license: Christopher James Smith/Acceptable 
advertisement: C. James Smith 

3)      A licensee’s first and middle name as it appears on the license as an initial: Name on 
license: Christopher James Smith/Acceptable advertisement: CJ Smith  

4)      A nickname that is not a commonly accepted derivative may be displayed in parenthesis or 
quotation marks with the full licensed name:  Name on license: Cynthia Jones/Acceptable 
advertisement: Cynthia “CeeCee” Jones 

 

 

  



 




