OHIO MINIMUM WAGE LAWS
"Employer" is any governmental entity, business
association, or person or group of persons acting in the interest of an employer
in relation to an employee.
"Employee" is any individual employed by
an employer, but does not included individuals employed:
- Any individual employed by the United States.
- Any individual who volunteers to perform services for a state, political subdivision of a state, or interstate governmental agency if certain conditions apply.
- An individual who volunteers their services solely for humanitarian purposes to private nonprofit food banks.
- Employees with mental or physical disabilities that may adversely affect the employees’ opportunities for employment.
- Employees under the age of 16.
- Employees of a solely family owned and operated business who are family members of the owner.
- Individuals employed in or about the property of the employer or person’s residence on a casual basis.
"Wage" is compensation due to an employee
by reason of his employment, payable in legal tender or check on banks convertible
to cash, including direct deposit. Wages also include the reasonable cost to employers
for furnishing to an employee board, lodging, or other facilities, if customarily
"Overtime" shall be paid at one and one-half
the employee's wage rate for hours worked over 40 in a pre-established work week,
consisting of not more than seven consecutive days.
"Pay Period" employees are entitled to wages
no less than on or before the 15th and 30th of each month.
- Minimum Wage Rate
- All Employers: Non-tipped employees $7.85; tipped employees $3.93
- All Employers over $150,000.00 will pay overtime at one and one-half
the employee's hourly rate after 40 actual working hours
- Employers who gross less than $150,000.00 no overtime required for
hours over 40
The Director of the Ohio Department of Commerce, pursuant to Ohio Revised Code section
4111.06, may authorize a special license for payment of less than the applicable
minimum wage rate for those employing disabled workers. This is done by means of
obtaining one of the following types of licenses: Work Activity Center Programs;
Sheltered Workshop Program; On-The-Job Training Temporary Individual; Individual
Regular Business or Industry; or Individual Program Rate in a Facility. For more
information on Ohio's Handicapped Minimum Wage Law
. Applications for handicapped licenses may be copied from this site (link here)
and mailed to:
Ohio Department of Commerce
Division of Industrial Compliance
Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration
6606 Tussing Rd.
PO Box 4009
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068-9009
Phone: (614) 644-2239
Information on this site
is believed to be accurate but is not guaranteed.
The State of Ohio disclaims any
liability for any errors or omissions.