QUICK REFERENCE GUIDELINES FOR EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS
The following is provided as a quick reference summary guide
only and should not be construed as anything else. It does not include all requirements of the
minor labor laws. The Ohio Revised Code, Chapter 4109 takes
precedence and should be referred to for all minor employment. To obtain a copy
of 4109 and the Ohio Minor Labor Laws poster, please contact:
Ohio Department of Commerce
Division of Industrial Compliance and Labor
Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration
6606 Tussing Rd.
P. O. Box 4009
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068-9009
Phone: (614) 644-2239
Website : http://www.com.ohio.gov.
The term "minor" refers to individuals under eighteen (18) years of age.
1. Every minor fourteen (14) to eighteen (18) years of age must have a work permit,
unless otherwise stated in Chapter 4109.
- The application for minor work permit form is a prerequisite for the minor work
permit. It contains employer and job information, employer pledge and parental consent.
- The physician certificate or evidence of a physical exam on file with the school.
- The minor, parent, or even employer may print the form(s) from the web site.
- The forms should be completed in their entirety by each party and signed. The employers
tax ID number is mandatory. Unsigned forms should not be accepted by the school.
The physician certificate may or may not be needed depending on the minors health
or athlethic physical exam history.
- The minor should return the completed form to the designated school personnel who
will then issue the minor work permit based in part on the information contained
on the pre-application.
2. The employer must return the working permit to the Superintendent of Schools
within three (3) days after the termination of the minor.
Employer must prepare, in duplicate, a written agreement indicating the agreed remuneration
for every minor fourteen (14) to eighteen (18) years of age .
- One copy to remain on file at the establishment where the minor is employed.
- One copy to be given to the minor for his/her retention
Minors must receive a thirty minute break when working more than five (5) consecutive
The employer shall keep a list of minors employed at each establishment, and such
list must be posted in a conspicuous place to which all minor employees have access.
Every employer shall keep a time book or other written records showing actual starting
and stopping time for hours worked and each rest period. These records must be kept
for two (2) years.
- RESTRICTIONS FOR HOURS WORKED
1. Minors under 16 years of age are prohibited from working:
- Before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m. when school is in session
- Before 7:00 a.m. or after 9.00 p.m. when school is NOT in session or during
a school holiday of five (5) or more days (USDOL does not allow for the school holiday
of 5 or more days exemption)
- More than 3 hours in a school day
- More than 18 hours in a school week
- More than 8 hours a day when school is NOT in session
- More than 40 hours per week when school is NOT in session
2. Minors 16 and 17 years of age are prohibited from working, when school is in
- Before 7:00 a.m. on a day when school is in session (such as Monday thru Friday)
- Before 6:00 a.m. when school is in session if they did not work after 8:00 p.m.
the previous night
- After 11:00 p.m. on any night preceding a day that school is in session (such as,
Sunday thru Thursday)
Wages may NOT be withheld from minors for shortages, presumed negligence,
breakage of machinery, incompetence, or inability to perform work according to any
standard of merit.
- PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS FOR MINORS
Minors are restricted from working in occupations that are considered hazardous
or detrimental to their health as outlined in Administrative Rule 4101:9-2, O.R.C.
Minors under 16 years of age may NOT engage in door to door employment unless the for profit employer
is registered with the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Labor and Worker
Safety, Bureau of Wage and Hour.
Refer to Chapter 4109.06 O.R.C. for exceptions to coverage.