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June 2017 
 
At its meeting on May 26, 2017, the Ohio Board of Building Standards adopted the rule 
changes identified as Amendments Group 93.  These rule amendments were adopted with an 
effective date of November 1, 2017.   
 
Amendments Group 93 includes the new Certification rule shown below.  For your use, the 
complete text of the rule can be found following this coversheet. 
 
 
Rule Number Rule Title Effective date 
4101:7-7-01 Fees. November 1, 2017 
 
Reason for Changes:  The Board amended the Ohio Administrative Code rule 4101:7-7-01 
(new) to move the DIC fees from current rule 4101:1-1-01 (OBC Chapter 1, Section 115) to a 
separate, independent rule. 
 
If you should have any questions regarding these rule changes, please call BBS staff at 
(614)644-2613. 
 
 



4101:7-7-01 Fees.

(A) Certified building department fees. Fees for construction documents submitted to and
inspections made by certified building departments shall be in accordance with the
locally adopted fee schedule.

(B) Division of industrial compliance schedule of fees. The fees for examination and
processing of construction documents when required to be submitted to the division
of industrial compliance, except medical gas piping systems and temporary
structures, shall be in accordance with Table B1. The filing process for an
application for plan approval specified in section 107.2 of rule 4101:1-1-01 of the
Administrative Code will not be considered complete until the applicable fees have
been paid in accordance with Table B1.

Exception: Fees for alteration or change of occupancy as determined by the
building official shall be based on the actual area affected by the alteration or
change of occupancy which may extend beyond the limits of construction.

Table B1 - DIC Schedule of Fees

Scope of Work Processing Fee Fee for Plans Examination
and a minimum of Five
Inspections

(1) Structural $275.00 $10.50/100 sq. ft. gross area
of each floor level

(2) Mechanical $275.00 $6.50/100 sq. ft. gross area
of each floor level

(3) Electrical $275.00 $6.50/100 sq. ft. gross area
of each floor level

(4) Fire alarm systems $275.00 $6.50 per device

(5) Automatic sprinkler and
other fire suppression
systems (all suppressed
areas)

$275.00 $6.50/100 sq. ft. gross area
of each floor level

(6) Industrial unit $200.00 $1.75/100 sq. ft. gross area
of each floor level

(1) Additional inspections. The division of industrial compliance may establish a
written policy for the maximum number of inspections required by sections
108.2 and 105.1.5 of rule 4101:1-1-01 of the Administrative Code that may
be included in the fees set forth in Table B1. Inspections in excess of the
maximum number established by the division of industrial compliance shall
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be subject to fee of one hundred fifty dollars per inspection.

(2) Resubmissions. The fees set forth in Table B1 shall include one initial plan
review and up to two resubmission plan reviews to resolve issues resulting
from correction letters. The fee for plan review after the second resubmission
shall be of one hundred dollars for each additional resubmission.

(3) Re-stamping. The processing fee for re-stamping additional sets of construction
documents after initial plan approval shall be one hundred dollars.

(4) Amended construction documents. The processing fee for amended construction
documents submitted to the division of industrial compliance in accordance
with section 106.3 of rule 4101:1-1-01 of the Administrative Code shall be
two hundred fifty dollars. The fee for plans examination of amended
construction documents submitted to the division of industrial compliance in
accordance with section 106.3 of rule 4101:1-1-01 of the Administrative
Code shall be one hundred dollars per hour for each submission.

(5) Phased plan approval. The fees for plan examination and processing of a phased
plan approval request per section 105.1.4 of rule 4101:1-1-01 of the
Administrative Code shall be in accordance with Table B1 and paragraph
(B)(1) for the initial phase submission of each scope of work. The processing
fee for plan examination of each subsequent phase of submission shall be two
hundred fifty dollars.

(6) Medical gas piping systems. The fees for examination and processing of
construction documents for medical gas piping systems when required to be
submitted to the division of industrial compliance shall be in accordance with
Table B2.

(a) Additional inspections. The division of industrial compliance may
establish a written policy for the maximum number of inspections
required by sections 108.2 and 105.1.5 of rule 4101:1-1-01 of the
Administrative Code that may be included in the fees set forth in Table
B2 for medical gas piping systems. Inspections in excess of the
maximum number established by the division of industrial compliance
shall be subject to a fee of one hundred fifty dollars per inspection.

Table B2 - DIC Medical Gas Schedule of Fees

Medical Gas Piping System Processing,
Plans Examination, and Inspections

Fee (includes a minimum of two
inspections)

Processing $250.00

Plans Examination $250.00
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Per room (with outlets) and equipment
rooms

$10.00

Per zone valve assembly $25.00

Per system $25.00

Per “tie-in” $25.00

(7) Temporary structure fee. The fee for the review and inspection of temporary
structures as referenced in section 102.8 of rule 4101:1-1-01 of the
Adminsitrative Code shall be one hundred fifty dollars per each scope of
work. This fee allocates one inspection for each scope of work. The fee for
inspections after normal business hours shall be one hundred thirty dollars per
hour.

(8) Preliminary review. The fee for preliminary construction document examination
for the purpose of determining compliance with the provisions of the rules of
the board by the division of industrial compliance shall be one hundred thirty
dollars per hour.

(9) Inspection fees. The fee for each inspection during normal business hours, other
than those required by section 108.2 and 105.1.5 of rule 4101:1-1-01 of the
Administrative Code, shall be one hundred fifty dollars per inspection. The
fee for inspections conducted after normal business hours shall be one
hundred thirty dollars per hour. Requests for all inspections shall be in
writing to the division of industrial compliance and the fee shall be paid prior
to the inspection.

Fees for an application pursuant to section 105.1.5 of rule 4101:1-1-01 of the
Administrative Code shall include a processing fee of one hundred fifty
dollars. The fee for periodic inspections conducted by the division of
industrial compliance shall include the hourly inspection rate and expenses
such as food, lodging, and administrative costs. All such fees shall be paid by
the holder of an annual approval.

(10) Reinspection fee. The fee for each reinspection shall be one hundred fifty
dollars. A reinspection shall be required when the inspector must return to
inspect work that was not ready or had failed a previous inspection.

(11) Related fees. In addition to the fees required by Table B1 and paragraphs
(B)(6), (B)(7), and (B)(8), the superintendent of the division of industrial
compliance shall collect a fee, on behalf of the board of building standards, of
three dollars and twenty-five cents for each application for acceptance and
approval of construction documents and for making inspections.
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The fee shall be deposited by the division of industrial compliance, pursuant
to section 121.084 of the Revised Code, to the credit of the board. The
superintendent of the division shall report on the amount of the fees collected
and deposited to the credit of the board not later than forty-five days
following the end of the first full month’s collection and then monthly
afterward.

(12) Late fee. Any person who fails to pay an inspection fee required for any
inspection conducted by the department of commerce pursuant to Chapters
3781. and 3791. of the Revised Code, except for fees charged for the
examination and processing of construction documents, within forty-five days
after the inspection is conducted shall pay a late payment fee equal to
twenty-five per cent of the inspection fee.

(13) Certificate of occupancy or certificate of completion. The fee for each
certificate of occupancy or certificate of completion issued in accordance
with section 111 of rule 4101:1-1-01 of the Administrative Code shall be
sixty-five dollars.

Exception: There shall be no fee for each certificate of occupancy issued in
accordance with section 111.4 of rule 4101:1-1-01 of the Administrative
Code for existing buildings.

(14) Annual approval for alterations. The fee for each annual approval for an
individual applicant issued in accordance with section 105.1.5 of rule
4101:1-1-01 of the Administrative Code shall be six hundred fifty dollars.

(15) Welding and brazing procedure specification review. The fee for the review of
each piping welding and brazing specification submitted in accordance with
section 313.5 of rule 4101:2-3-01 of the Administrative Code and section
317.5 of rule 4101:3-3-01 of the Administrative Code shall be sixty dollars.

(16) Welding and brazing procedure qualification record review. The fee for the
review of each procedure qualification record submitted in accordance with
section 313.5 of rule 4101:2-3-01 of the Administrative Code and section
317.5 of rule 4101:3-3-01 of the Administrative Code shall be fifteen dollars.

(17) Welding and brazing performance qualification review. The fee for the review
of each performance qualification submitted in accordance with section 313.5
of rule 4101:2-3-01 of the Administrative Code and section 317.5 of rule
4101:3-3-01 of the Administrative Code shall be fifteen dollars.

4101:7-7-01 4



Replaces: 4101:1-1-01

Effective: 11/01/2017

Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 11/01/2022

CERTIFIED ELECTRONICALLY

Certification

05/26/2017

Date

Promulgated Under: 119.03
Statutory Authority: 3791.07
Rule Amplifies: 3781. and 3791.
Prior Effective Dates: 7/7/69, 3/26/71, 4/15/74, 2/15/75, 7/1/77, 12/30/77,

7/1/78, 7/1/79, 7/16/79, 5/1/80, 1/1/81, 3/10/82,
7/1/82, 1/1/83, 1/1/84, 3/1/84, 3/5/84, 3/1/85, 7/1/85,
12/1/85, 3/1/86, 9/1/86, 2/1/87, 7/1/87, 1/1/88,
10/1/88, 1/1/89, 6/1/89, 1/1/90, 8/1/90, 10/1/90,
7/1/91, 7/15/92, 9/1/92, 1/1/93, 7/5/93, 1/1/94, 9/1/94,
5/15/95, 7/1/95, 2/1/96, 2/2/96, 1/1/97, 7/1/97, 1/1/98,
3/1/98, 4/1/99, 10/1/99, 7/15/00, 12/1/00, 4/1/01,
1/1/02, 7/1/02, 1/1/03, 4/1/03, 7/1/03, 8/15/03, 1/1/04,
7/1/04, 3/1/05, 9/6/05, 3/1/06, 7/1/06, 7/1/07, 1/1/09,
7/1/09, 11/1/11, 3/11/12, 3/12/12(Emer.), 6/8/12,
3/1/13, 7/1/14, 1/1/16, 10/10/16
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