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It is the responsibility of the Ohio Department Commerce, Division
of Liquor Control to provide you, our contract agents, with the spiritu-
ous liquor products you need to meet the demands of your customers.
Along with the authority that you have been given as an authorized
liquor sales agent, or agency employee for the state of Ohio, comes the
responsibility to uphold the division’s mission:

“To provide for the safe sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages in
Ohio.”

The Safe Alcohol Sales Training program is designed to assist
each of you involved in the sale of spirituous liquor.  In addition to being
the “eyes and ears” of the division, we consider our contract agents and
their employees to be representatives of the division and the state of
Ohio, as well. This program will instruct you about the two types of
“customers of concern,” and emphasizes your responsibility to deal with
these customers in a proper manner.

Strict adherence to the laws related to sales to underage and
intoxicated persons is absolutely essential to your operation.  We expect
you and your employees to set the example for safe, responsible sales
standards that other permit holders will follow.

You have been entrusted with the privilege of acting as an agent for
the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Liquor Control, and we
believe that you take this responsibility seriously.  The division will
provide every resource available to help you be successful in this
endeavor.  Working together we can continue to uphold our excellent
reputation as a control state with a record for safe and responsible sales
of spirituous liquor.

Introduction
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As a liquor sales agent for the Ohio Department of
Commerce, Division of Liquor Control, you can sell
spirituous liquor for off premises consumption only.
This establishes two major “customers of concern”
in your business: the underage customer and the
intoxicated customer.  The following information
provides options for maintaining friendly service when
the sale of alcohol is not an alternative.

Sales to Underage Persons

Ohio law prohibits the sale of alcoholic beverages to persons under
21 years of age.  Ohio Revised Code Section 4301.22(A) (see page 7)
states in part, “...no beer or intoxicating liquor shall be sold to any
person under 21 years of age.”  The penalty for this violation is a fine up
to $500 and/or 60 days in jail.  Ohio Revised Code Section 4301.69
(see page 9) further provides that no person shall sell or furnish beer or
intoxicating liquor to a person under 21 unless given by a physician in
the regular line of his practice, or given for established religious pur-
poses, or unless the underage person is accompanied by a parent, a
spouse who is not underage, or a legal guardian.  Violation of this law
is a misdemeanor and can result in a fine up to $1,000 and/or up to six
months in jail.  For a liquor sales agent, this could mean termination of
your liquor agency contract with this division.

Underage persons who are involved in the purchase of beer or
intoxicating liquor also face criminal charges.  Section 4301.69 of the
Ohio Revised Code  (see page 9) prohibits a person under 21 from
ordering, paying for, sharing in the cost of, attempting to purchase,
consuming, or possessing any beer or intoxicating liquor.  The penalty
for violating this section is a fine up to $1,000 and/or six months in jail.
In addition, no underage person can knowingly furnish false information
in an attempt to purchase beer or intoxicating liquor pursuant to Section
4301.634 of the Ohio Revised Code (see page 12).  Violation of this
law can result in a fine up to $1,000 and/or six months in jail.

1

Basic Concepts of Responsible Beverage Service



2

Ohio Revised Code Section 4301.639 (see page 12) provides a
defense for a seller who, in good faith, accepts spurious or false identifi-
cation, providing the seller complied with the outlined procedures of this
section.  It is the duty of the seller to question any person who, from
their physical characteristics, appears to be underage.  Before selling
beer or intoxicating liquor to any youthful appearing person, they must
present a valid photo driver’s license, chauffeur’s license, or state of
Ohio identification card correctly identifying their age.  Laxity and
indifference to purchases of alcoholic beverages by underage persons
will not be tolerated.  Obtaining satisfactory proof of a purchaser’s age
is the direct responsibility of the person making the sale.  The seller must
take every precaution to prevent illegal sales, and when there is a doubt
and the buyer cannot prove their age, the sale must be refused.

There are many indications that can help the seller identify an
underage buyer.  These may include, but are not limited to:  slight
physical build in the shoulders, chest, hips, arms and thighs; lack of
facial hair; thin and “unweathered” hands; physical signs of nervous
tension; high pitched or cracking voice; excessive talking; inappropriate
clothing or jewelry for the simulated age; or incorrect responses to
questions.

Acceptable forms of identification are a valid driver’s license, an
official state of Ohio identification card for a non-driver, or a military
identification card issued by the U.S. Department of Defense.  When
proper identification is produced, be certain to verify the age and to
compare the physical description on the identification to the buyer’s
appearance.  To signify an underage person, valid Ohio driver’s licenses
and official Ohio identification cards have a red strip at the top of the
card and the photo is placed on the left side.  There is also an  “Under
21 until...” line on these cards to provide a clear way to determine when
a person turns 21.  Persons under the age of 21 are issued Ohio
driver’s licenses and/or official Ohio identification cards that have all the
same features signifying an underage person that the older cards have,
but now also have a vertical orientation (the photo appears at the top of
the card, just below a red strip).  Also, check to make sure the identifi-
cation has not been altered in any way.  For example, a valid Ohio
driver’s license and Ohio identification cards will feature holograms of
the great seal of Ohio and  “Don’t Drink and Drive” holograms that
appear in several places throughout the face of the card.  Ohioans who
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have previously been issued a horizontal license or identification card
will not be required to convert to a vertical license or identification card.
Under 21 horizontal licenses and identification cards will be phased out
over five years.  Licenses and identification cards issued to persons
under 21 years of age are issued until the person turns 21.

Another means by which a permit holder can determine whether a
person is 21 years of age is by using a transaction scan device (see
pages 15 and 18).  These devices are used to check the validity of a
driver’s license or an identification card.  However, permit holders and
their employees must be aware that they should not rely exclusively on
the machine.  Merely scanning the identification through the device is not
sufficient.  The clerks must ensure the person handing them the identifi-
cation is actually the person that appears on it.  Steps must be taken to
verify the identification being presented accurately represents the person
purchasing the alcohol.  Failure to do so may result in an underage
alcohol sale and lead to charges against the clerk and the permit.

It is illegal for any person other than the state to manufacture, sell or
distribute in any manner an identification card issued for the purpose of
establishing a person’s age that displays the great seal of Ohio or the
words “Ohio,” “State,”  “Official,” “Chauffeur,” “Commercial Driver,”
“Driver,” “Operator,” or any other designation that represents the card
as the official driver’s license or identification card of Ohio.  Any
violation of this law is a fourth degree felony punishable by six months to
five years in prison and/or a fine of $1,000 to $2,500 .

Further, a person under 21 may not possess any beer or intoxicating
liquor in a public or private place except as provided by law. It is also
illegal for any person to possess an open container of beer or intoxicat-
ing liquor in a public place except when it has been lawfully purchased
for consumption on the licensed permit premises.

Sales to Intoxicated Persons

In addition to sales to underage persons, it is also a violation of
Ohio law to sell alcoholic beverages to anyone who is intoxicated.
Ohio Revised Code Section 4301.22(B) (see page 7) states that no
sales shall be made to an intoxicated person.  Violation of this law is a
third degree misdemeanor, and can result in a fine of up to $500 and/or
60 days in jail.
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A sales clerk should be alert and look for signs that indicate a
person may be intoxicated.  Observe the customer’s actions, appear-
ance, speech and other mannerisms to see if they give the impression of
an intoxicated individual.  If intoxication is suspected, the sale should be
refused.

The following clues may be helpful when trying to determine if a
patron is intoxicated:  bloodshot or glassy eyes; flushed complexion;
disheveled hair or clothing; staggering when walking; unsteady on feet;
odor of alcohol on breath; uncoordinated actions or movements;
incoherent, garbled, slurred  or boisterous speech; or profane language.

We must all accept the responsibility of proper alcohol beverage
service.  Be certain not to sell to a patron if there is a question as to the
age or sobriety of the customer.  You should be aware that recent Ohio
Supreme Court decisions held the seller of alcoholic beverages liable for
the results of irresponsible service. Therefore, you need to develop your
own techniques and in-house rules to intervene in complex situations.

It may be a good idea to maintain an ongoing daily log to note any
unusual incidents or dealings with the “customers of concern” discussed
in this pamphlet.

Co-workers should be encouraged to support each other, espe-
cially when attempting to deal with an unreasonable or irrational cus-
tomer.

Responsible Beverage Service is Necessary
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Responsible Beverage Service

A. The two major types of “customers of concern” are:

1. The underage customer;
2. The intoxicated customer.

B. The three basic concepts of responsible beverage service are:

1. How to identify the customer of concern;
2. Alternatives of service to the customer when the sale of

alcohol is not possible;
3. Methods of intervention.

Preventing Sales to Underage Persons

A. The laws of the State of Ohio require a person to be 21 years
of age in order to purchase any alcohol, including beer.

B. In addition to always carefully checking a valid form of identification,
there are several verbal and non-verbal clues to help the alcohol server
identify the underage customer.

1. slight physical build;
2. lack of facial hair;
3. thin and “unweathered” hands;
4. physical signs of nervous tension;
5. high pitched or cracking voice;
6. excessive talking;
7. clothing inappropriate for the age ;

The duty of responsible beverage service is one that is recognized
by the division, the legislature, and the courts.  By working together, we
can make this program a success and ensure the safety of our patrons
and all Ohioans.

Review Section
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Preventing Sales to Intoxicated Persons

A. Ohio liquor law says that “no sales shall be made to an intoxicated
person.”

B. Clues that help identify the intoxicated person are:

1. Bloodshot or glassy eyes;
2. Flushed complexion;
3. Disheveled hair or clothing;
4. Staggering when walking;
5. Unsteady on feet;
6. Odor of alcohol about their breath;
7. Uncoordinated actions or movements;
8. Incoherent, garbled or slurred speech;
9. Boisterous, loud, or profane language.

C. The seller should also “interview” the customer to determine if he/
she had been drinking before coming into the store.

Responsible Beverage Service is a Necessity and a Duty

A. You must make sure that each sale is appropriate and legal.

B. If there is any question in your mind as to the customer’s age or
sobriety, you cannot make the sale.

C. If you sell alcohol to an underage or intoxicated customer, not only
are you breaking the law, you may also be held liable for the results
of irresponsible beverage service in certain cases involving injury,
death or property damage (see Ohio Revised Code section
4399.18).

8. jewelry inappropriate for the age;
9. incorrect replies to questions.
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Sales of beer and intoxicating liquor under all classes of permits and
from state liquor stores are subject to the following restrictions, in
addition to those imposed by the rules or orders of the division of liquor
control:

(A)(1) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, no beer or
intoxicating liquor shall be sold to any person under twenty-one years of
age.

(2) No low-alcohol beverage shall be sold to any person under
eighteen years of age. No permit issued by the division shall be
suspended, revoked, or canceled because of a violation of division
(A)(2) of this section.

(3) No intoxicating liquor shall be handled by any person under
twenty-one years of age, except that a person eighteen years of age or
older employed by a permit holder may handle or sell beer or
intoxicating liquor in sealed containers in connection with wholesale or
retail sales, and any person nineteen years of age or older employed by
a permit holder may handle intoxicating liquor in open containers when
acting in the capacity of a server in a hotel, restaurant, club, or night
club, as defined in division (B) of section 4301.01 of the Revised Code,
or in the premises of a D-7 permit holder. This section does not
authorize persons under twenty-one years of age to sell intoxicating
liquor across a bar. Any person employed by a permit holder may
handle beer or intoxicating liquor in sealed containers in connection with
manufacturing, storage, warehousing, placement, stocking, bagging,
loading, or unloading, and may handle beer or intoxicating liquor in open
containers in connection with cleaning tables or handling empty bottles
or glasses.

(B) No permit holder and no agent or employee of a permit holder
shall sell or furnish beer or intoxicating liquor to an intoxicated person.

(C) No sales of intoxicating liquor shall be made after two-thirty
a.m. on Sunday, except under either of the following circumstances: (1)
Intoxicating liquor may be sold on Sunday under authority of a permit
that authorizes Sunday sales.

ORC Section 4301.22 - Restrictions
on sales of beer and liquor

Selected Sections of Ohio’s Liquor Laws and Rules
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(2)  Spirituous liquor may be sold on Sunday by any person
awarded an agency contract under section 4301.17 of  the Revised
Code if the sale of spirituous liquor is authorized in the applicable
percinct as the result of an election on question (B)(1) or (2) of section
4301.351 of the Revised Code and if the agency contract authorizes the
sale of spirituous liquor on Sunday.

This section does not prevent a municipal corporation from
adopting a closing hour for the sale of intoxicating liquor earlier than
two-thirty a.m. on Sunday or to provide that no intoxicating liquor may
be sold prior to that hour on Sunday.

(D) No holder of a permit shall give away any beer or intoxicating
liquor of any kind at any time in connection with permit holder’s
business.

(E) Except as otherwise provided in this division, no retail permit
holder shall display or permit the display on the outside of any licensed
retail premises, or on any lot of ground on which the licensed premises
are situated, or on the exterior of any building of which said licensed
premises are a part, any sign, illustration, or advertisement bearing the
name, brand name, trade name, trade-mark, designation, or other
emblem of or indicating the manufacturer, producer, distributor, place of
manufacture, production, or distribution of any beer or intoxicating
liquor. Signs, illustrations, or advertisements bearing the name, brand
name, trade name, trade-mark, designation, or other emblem of or
indicating the manufacturer, producer, distributor, place of manufacture,
production, or distribution of beer or intoxicating liquor may be
displayed and permitted to be displayed on the interior or in the show
windows of any licensed premises, if the particular brand or type of
product so advertised is actually available for sale on the premises at the
time of such display. The liquor control commission shall determine by
rule the size and character of such signs, illustrations, or advertisements.

(F) No retail permit holder shall possess on the licensed premises
any barrel or other container from which beer is drawn, unless there is
attached to the spigot or other dispensing apparatus the name of the
manufacturer of the product contained therein, provided that where
such beer is served at a bar the manufacturer’s name or brand must
appear in full view of the purchaser. The commission shall regulate the
size and character of the devices provided for in this section.
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(G) Except as otherwise provided in this division, no sale of any gift
certificate shall be permitted whereby beer or intoxicating liquor of any
kind is to be exchanged for such certificate, unless the gift certificate can
be exchanged only for food, and beer or intoxicating liquor, for on-
premises consumption and the value of the beer or intoxicating liquor for
which the certificate can be exchanged does not exceed more than thirty
per cent of the total value of the gift certificate. The sale of gift
certificates for the purchase of beer, wine, or mixed beverages shall be
permitted for the purchase of beer, wine, or mixed beverages for off-
premises consumption. Limitations on the use of a gift certificate for the
purchase of beer, wine, or mixed beverages for off-premises
consumption may be expressed by clearly stamping or typing on the
face of the certificate that the certificate may not be used for the
purchase of beer, wine, or mixed beverages.

(A) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, no person shall
sell beer or intoxicating liquor to an underage person, shall buy beer or
intoxicating liquor for an underage person, or shall furnish it to an
underage person, unless given by a physician in the regular line of the
physician’s practice or given for established religious purposes or unless
the underage person is accompanied by a parent, spouse who is not an
underage person, or legal guardian.

In proceedings before the liquor control commission, no permit
holder, or the employee or agent of a permit holder, charged with a
violation of this division shall be charged, for the same offense, with a
violation of division (A)(1) of section 4301.22 of the Revised Code.

(B) No person who is the owner or occupant of any public or
private place shall knowingly allow any underage person to remain in or
on the place while possessing or consuming beer or intoxicating liquor,
unless the intoxicating liquor or beer is given to the person possessing or
consuming it by that person’s parent, spouse who is not an underage
person, or legal guardian and the parent, spouse who is not an underage
person, or legal guardian is present at the time of the person’s posses-
sion or consumption of the beer or intoxicating liquor.

ORC Section 4301.69 - Offenses
involving underage persons
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An owner of a public or private place is not liable for acts or
omissions in violation of this division that are committed by a lessee of
that place, unless the owner authorizes or acquiesces in the lessee’s acts
or omissions.

(C) No person shall engage or use accommodations at a hotel, inn,
cabin, campground, or restaurant when the person knows or has reason
to know either of the following:

(1) That beer or intoxicating liquor will be consumed by an under-
age person on the premises of the accommodations that the person
engages or uses, unless the person engaging or using the accommoda-
tions is the spouse of the underage person and who is not an underage
person, or is the parent or legal guardian of all of the underage persons,
who consume beer or intoxicating liquor on the premises and that
person is on the premises at all times when beer or intoxicating liquor is
being consumed by an underage person;

(2) That a drug of abuse will be consumed on the premises of the
accommodations by any person, except a person who obtained the
drug of abuse pursuant to a prescription issued by a licensed health
professional authorized to prescribe drugs and has the drug of abuse in
the original container in which it was dispensed to the person.

(D)(1) No person is required to permit the engagement of accom-
modations at any hotel, inn, cabin, or campground by an underage
person or for an underage person, if the person engaging the
accomodations knows or has reason to know that the underage person
is intoxicated, or that the underage person possesses any beer or
intoxicating liquor and is not supervised by a parent, spouse who is not
an underage person, or legal guardian who is or will be present at all
times when the beer or intoxicating liquor is being consumed by the
underage person.

(2) No underage person shall knowingly engage or attempt to
engage accommodations at any hotel, inn, cabin, or campground by
presenting identification that falsely indicates that the underage person is
twenty-one years of age or older for the purpose of violating this
section.

(E)(1) No underage person shall knowingly order, pay for, share the
cost of, attempt to purchase, possess, or consume any beer or intoxi-
cating liquor in any public or private place. No underage person shall
knowingly be under the influence of any beer or intoxicating liquor in



any public place. The prohibitions set forth in division (E)(1) of this
section against an underage person knowingly possessing, consuming,
or being under the influence of any beer or intoxicating liquor shall not
apply if the underage person is accompanied by a parent, spouse who is
not an underage person, or legal guardian, or the beer or intoxicating
liquor is given by a physician in the regular line of the physician’s prac-
tice or given for established religious purposes.

(2)(a) If a person is charged with violating division (E)(1) of this
section in a complaint filed under section 2151.27 of the Revised Code,
the court may order the child into a diversion program specified by the
court and hold the complaint in abeyance pending successful completion
of the diversion program. A child is ineligible to enter into a diversion
program under division (E)(2)(a) of this section if the child previously
has been diverted pursuant to division (E)(2)(a) of this section. If the
child completes the diversion program to the satisfaction of the court,
the court shall dismiss the complaint and order the child’s record in the
case sealed under division (D)(3) of section 2151.356 to 2151.358 of
the Revised Code. If the child fails to satisfactorily complete the diver-
sion program, the court shall proceed with the complaint.

(b) If a person is charged in a criminal complaint with violating
division (E)(1) of this section, section 2935.36 of the Revised Code
shall apply to the offense, except that a person is ineligible for diversion
under that section if the person previously has been diverted pursuant to
division (E)(2)(a) or (b) of this section. If the person completes the
diversion program to the satisfaction of the court, the court shall dismiss
the complaint and order the record in the case sealed under section
2953.52 of the Revised Code. If the person fails to satisfactorily
complete the diversion program, the court shall proceed with the
complaint.

(F) No parent, spouse who is not an underage person, or legal
guardian of a minor shall knowingly permit the minor to violate this
section or section 4301.63, 4301.633 [4301.63.3], or 4301.634
[4301.63.4] of the Revised Code.

(G) The operator of any hotel, inn, cabin, or campground shall
make the provisions of this section available in writing to any person
engaging or using accommodations at the hotel, inn, cabin, or camp-
ground.

11
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ORC Section 4301.634 -
Misrepresentation by a person under twenty-one

Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, no person under the
age of twenty-one years shall knowingly show or give false information
concerning the person’s name, age, or other identification for the
purpose of purchasing or otherwise obtaining beer or intoxicating liquor
in any place in this state where beer or intoxicating liquor is sold under a
permit issued by the division of liquor control or sold by the division.

ORC Section 4301.639 - Good faith
acceptance of false identification

(A) No permit holder, agent or employee of a permit holder, or any
other person may be found guilty of a violation of any section of this
chapter or any rule of the liquor control commission in which age is an
element of the offense, if the liquor control commission or any court of
record finds all of the following:

(1) That the person buying, at the time of so doing, exhibited to the
permit holder, the agent or employee of the permit holder, or the other
person a driver’s or commercial driver’s license or an identification card
issued under sections 4507.50 to 4507.52 of the Revised Code or a
military identification card issued by the United States Department of
Defense showing that the person buying was then at least twenty-one
years of age if the person was buying beer as defined in section
4301.01 of the Revised Code or intoxicating liquor or that the person

(H) As used in this section:
(1) “Drug of abuse” has the same meaning as in section 3719.011

[3719.01.1] of the Revised Code.
(2) “Hotel” has the same meaning as in section 3731.01 of the

Revised Code.
(3) “Licensed health professional authorized to prescribe drugs” and

“prescription” have the same meanings as in section 4729.01 of the
Revised Code.

(4) “Minor” means a person under the age of eighteen years.
(5) “Underage person” means a person under the age of twenty-

one years.



was then at least eighteen years of age if the person was buying any
low-alcohol beverage;

(2) That the permit holder, the agent or employee of the permit
holder, or the other person made a bona fide effort to ascertain the true
age of the person buying by checking the identification presented, at the
time of the purchase, to ascertain that the description on the identifica-
tion compared with the appearance of the buyer and that the identifica-
tion presented had not been altered in any way;

(3) That the permit holder, the agent or employee of the permit
holder, or the other person had reason to believe that the person buying
was of legal age.

(B) In any hearing before the liquor control commission and in any
action or proceeding before a court of record in which a defense is
raised under division (A) of this section, the registrar of motor vehicles
or deputy registrar who issued an identification card under sections
4507.50 to 4507.52 of the Revised Code shall be permitted to submit
certified copies of the records, in the registrar’s or deputy’s possession,
of that issuance in lieu of the testimony of the personnel of or contrac-
tors with the bureau of motor vehicles at the hearing, action, or pro-
ceeding.

(C) The defense provided by division (A) of this section is in
addition to the affirmative defense provided by section 4301.611
[4301.61.1] of the Revised Code.

Penalties for violating Ohio’s liquor laws
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DRINKING  AGE:  In order to drink or purchase beer and
intoxicating liquor, which includes paying for, sharing in the cost of and
attempting to buy it, an individual must be 21 years of age or older.

PENALTY:  If the individual is under 18 years of age, he/she is
subject to punishment by juvenile court.  If the individual is 18 or
older, he/she is subject to a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to six
months in jail (1st degree misdemeanor).

FALSE I.D.:  It is against the law to knowingly show or give false
information about name, age or other identification if under the age of



21 and trying to buy beer or intoxicating liquor.  It is also against the law
for a person to falsely identify the name, age or any other information of
another person under 21 so that person can get beer or intoxicating
liquor either by purchase or as a gift.

PENALTY:  If the individual is under 18 years of age, he/she is
subject to punishment by juvenile court.  If the individual is 18 or
older, he/she is subject to a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to six
months in jail (1st degree misdemeanor).  An individual who uses a
fake driver’s license to buy beer or intoxicating liquor may also
lose driving rights for a year.  In addition, an individual who loans
his or her driver’s license to another for the purchase of beer or
intoxicating liquor is subject to a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to
six months in jail.

MANUFACTURING FALSE I.D.:  It is illegal for any person other
than the state to manufacture, sell or distribute in any manner any
identification card issued for the purpose of establishing a person’s age
that displays the great seal of Ohio, the words “Ohio,” “State,”
“Official,” “Chauffeur,” “Commercial Driver,” “Driver,” “Operator,” or
any other designation that represents the card as the official driver’s
license or identification card of Ohio.

PENALTY:  Subject to a fine of up to $2,500 and/or up to one year
in jail (5th degree felony).

FURNISHING ALCOHOL TO AN UNDERAGE INDIVIDUAL:
No one can legally sell or give beer or intoxicating liquor to an individual
under 21 years of age except a physician in the regular line of his
practice, or given for established religious purposes, or unless the
individual under 21 is accompanied by a spouse of legal age, a parent
or legal guardian.

PENALTY:  Subject to a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to six
months in jail (1st degree misdemeanor).

14
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POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL BY UNDERAGE INDIVIDUAL:
It is illegal for a person under 21 years of age to possess any beer or
intoxicating liquor in any public or private place, unless accompanied by
a parent, spouse, or legal guardian, or unless the beer or intoxicating
liquor is given by a physician in the regular line of his/her practice, or
given for established religious purposes.

PENALTY:  If the individual is under 18 years of age, he/she is
subject to punishment by juvenile court.  If the individual is 18 or
older, he/she is subject to a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to six
months in jail (1st degree misdemeanor).

DRINKING IN A MOTOR VEHICLE:  No one can drink beer or
intoxicating liquor in a motor vehicle, including such things as
automobiles, recreational vehicles and boats.

PENALTY:  Subject to a fine of up to $250 and/or up to 30 days in
jail (4th degree misdemeanor).

PUBLIC POSSESSION:  No one can possess an open container of
alcoholic beverage in or on a motor vehicle, stationary or moving, on
any street, highway or other public or private property open to the
public for purposes of vehicular travel or parking.

PENALTY:  Subject to a fine of up to $150 (minor misdemeanor).

ORC 4301.61 - Transaction scan in connection
with sale or allowing admission to permit premises

(A) As used in this section and section 4301.611 of the Revised
Code:

(1) “Card holder” means any person who presents a driver’s or
commercial driver’s license or an identification card to a permit holder,
or an agent or employee of a permit holder, for either of the purposes
listed in division (A)(4)(a) or (b) of this section.

(2) “Identification card” means an identification card issued under
sections 4507.50 to 4507.52 of the Revised Code.
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(3) “Permit holder” means the holder of a permit issued under
Chapter 4303. of the Revised Code.

(4) “Transaction scan” means the process by which a permit holder
or an agent or employee of a permit holder checks, by means of a
transaction scan device, the validity of a driver’s or commercial driver’s
license or an identification card that is presented as a condition for doing
either of the following:

(a) Purchasing any beer, intoxicating liquor, or low-alcohol bever-
age;

(b) Gaining admission to a premises that has been issued a liquor
permit authorizing the sale of beer or intoxicating liquor for consumption
on the premises where sold, and where admission is restricted to
persons twenty-one years of age or older.

(5) “Transaction scan device” means any commercial device or
combination of devices used at a point of sale that is capable of deci-
phering in an electronically readable format the information encoded on
the magnetic strip or bar code of a driver’s or commercial driver’s
license or an identification card.

(B)(1) A permit holder or an agent or employee of a permit holder
may perform a transaction scan by means of a transaction scan device
to check the validity of a driver’s or commercial driver’s license or
identification card presented by a card holder for either of the purposes
listed in division (A)(4)(a) or (b) of this section.

(2) If the information deciphered by the transaction scan performed
under division (B)(1) of this section fails to match the information
printed on the driver’s or commercial driver’s license or identification
card presented by the card holder, or if the transaction scan indicates
that the information so printed is false or fraudulent, neither the permit
holder nor any agent or employee of the permit holder shall sell any
beer, intoxicating liquor, or low-alcohol beverage to the card holder.

(3) Division (B)(1) of this section does not preclude a permit holder
or an agent or employee of a permit holder from using a transaction
scan device to check the validity of a document other than a driver’s or
commercial driver’s license or an identification card, if the document
includes a bar code or magnetic strip that may be scanned by the
device, as a condition of a sale of beer, intoxicating liquor, or a low-
alcohol beverage or of granting admission to a premises described in
division (A)(4) of this section.
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(C) The registrar of motor vehicles, with the approval of the liquor
control commission, shall adopt, and may amend or rescind, rules in
accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code that do both of the
following:

(1) Govern the recording and maintenance of information described
in divisions (D)(1)(a) and (b) of this section , divisions (D)(1)(a) and (b)
of section 2927.021 of the Revised Code, and divisions (D)(1)(a) and
(b) of section 2925.57 of the Revised Code;

(2) Ensure quality control in the use of transaction scan devices
under this section and sections 2927.021, 2927.022, 2925.57,
2925.58, and 4301.611 of the Revised Code.

(D)(1) No permit holder or agent or employee of a permit holder
shall electronically or mechanically record or maintain any information
derived from a transaction scan, except the following:

(a) The name and date of birth of the person listed on the driver’s
or commercial driver’s license or identification card presented by a card
holder;

(b) The expiration date and identification number of the driver’s or
commercial driver’s license or identification card presented by a card
holder.

(2) No permit holder or agent or employee of a permit holder shall
use the information that is derived from a transaction scan or that is
permitted to be recorded and maintained by division (D)(1) of this
section, except for purposes of section 4301.611 of the Revised Code.

(3) No permit holder or agent or employee of a permit holder shall
use a transaction scan device for a purpose other than a purpose listed
in division (A)(4)(a) or (b) of this section.

(4) No permit holder or agent or employee of a permit holder shall
sell or otherwise disseminate the information derived from a transaction
scan to any third party, including, but not limited to, selling or otherwise
disseminating that information for any marketing, advertising, or promo-
tional activities, but a permit holder or agent or employee of a permit
holder may release that information pursuant to a court order or as
specifically authorized by section 4301.611 or another section of the
Revised Code.

(E) Nothing in this section or section 4301.611 of the Revised
Code relieves a permit holder or an agent or employee of a permit
holder of any responsibility to comply with any other applicable state or
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(A) A permit holder or an agent or employee of a permit holder may
not be found guilty of a charge of a violation of this chapter or any rule
of the liquor control commission in which the age of a purchaser of any
beer, intoxicating liquor, or low-alcohol beverage is an element of the
alleged violation, if the permit holder, agent, or employee raises and
proves as an affirmative defense that all of the following occurred:

(1) The card holder attempting to purchase any beer, intoxicating
liquor, or low-alcohol beverage presented a driver’s or commercial
driver’s license or an identification card.

(2) A transaction scan of the driver’s or commercial driver’s license
or identification card that the card holder presented indicated that the
license or card was valid.

(3) The beer, intoxicating liquor, or low-alcohol beverage was sold
to the card holder in reasonable reliance upon the identification
presented and the completed transaction scan.

(B) In determining whether a permit holder or an agent or employee
of a permit holder has proven the affirmative defense provided by
division (A) of this section, the liquor control commission or the trier of
fact in a court of record shall consider any written policy that the permit
holder has adopted and implemented and that is intended to prevent
violations of division (A)(1) or (2) of section 4301.22 and of sections
4301.63 to 4301.636 [4301.63.6], 4301.69, and 4301.691
[4301.69.1] of the Revised Code. For purposes of division (A)(3) of
this section, the commission or trier of fact shall consider that
reasonable reliance upon the identification presented and the completed
transaction scan may require a permit holder or an agent or employee of

ORC 4301.611 - Transaction scan
as affirmative defense

federal laws or rules governing the sale of beer, intoxicating liquor, or
low-alcohol beverages.

(F) Whoever violates division (B)(2) or (D) of this section is guilty
of an illegal liquor transaction scan, and the court may impose upon the
offender a civil penalty of up to one thousand dollars for each violation.
The clerk of the court shall pay each collected civil penalty to the county
treasurer for deposit into the county treasury.
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a permit holder to exercise reasonable diligence to determine, and that
the use of a transaction scan device does not excuse a permit holder or
an agent or employee of a permit holder from exercising reasonable
diligence to determine, the following:

(1) Whether a person to whom the permit holder or agent or
employee of a permit holder sells any beer or intoxicating liquor is
twenty-one years of age or older or sells any low-alcohol beverage is
eighteen years of age or older;

(2) Whether the description and picture appearing on the driver’s or
commercial driver’s license or identification card presented by a card
holder is that of the card holder.

(C) The affirmative defense provided by division (A) of this section
is in addition to the defense provided by section 4301.639 [4301.63.9]
of the Revised Code.

(D) In any hearing before the liquor control commission and in any
criminal action in which the affirmative defense provided by division (A)
of this section is raised, the registrar of motor vehicles or a deputy
registrar who issued an identification card under sections 4507.50 to
4507.52 of the Revised Code shall be permitted to submit certified
copies of the records of that issuance in lieu of the testimony of the
personnel of or contractors with the bureau of motor vehicles in the
hearing or action.

Any person twenty-one years of age employed by any permit
holder may participate in any manner in the handling, sale, or delivery of
wine, mixed beverages, or spirituous liquor; and any person nineteen
years of age employed by any permit holder may participate in any
manner in the handling, sale, or delivery of beer, and when working in
the capacity of a waiter or waitress may participate in the handling, sale
or delivery of wine, mixed beverages or spirituous liquor. Any person
eighteen years of age or older employed by any permit holder may
handle beer, wine, mixed beverages or spirituous liquor in sealed
containers in connection with wholesale or retail sales, and any person
employed by any permit holder may handle beer, wine, mixed bever-

OAC 4301:1-1-56  Employment
of underage persons
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OAC 4301:1-1-46  Miscellaneous restrictions

(A) No beer or intoxicating liquor shall be sold or served to occu-
pants of automobiles, for consumption therein, and no “curb service”
shall be furnished by any permit holder.

(B) No retail permit holder shall sell any alcoholic beverages to
other permit holders or any other persons for the purpose of resale. No
retail permit holder shall loan, exchange, transfer, allocate, or deliver any
alcoholic beverages to another permit holder or to another permit
premises. A retail permit holder may transfer alcoholic beverages from a
permit premises where the permit is not renewed, the right to sell
alcoholic beverages has been cancelled in any manner by law, or the
operations have ceased permanently, to another permit premises for
which that retail permit holder holds the permit, only upon receiving
written consent from the division of liquor control. The retail permit
holder shall provide a written request for consent to the division, which
shall include proof that the retail permit holder offered the wholesale
distributor the alcoholic beverages and that the wholesale distributor
declined to repurchase the alcoholic beverages, and proof of ownership
of the inventory.

(C) No deliveries of beer, or wine and mixed beverages to retail
permit holders shall be made by anyone who is not a bona fide em-
ployee of the B-1, B-2, B-4, B-5, A-1, A-2, or A-4 permit holder
making the sale, except such deliveries may be made as provided by
section 4301.60 of the Revised Code.

(D) No alcoholic beverage shall be given away with the purchase of
merchandise or any thing of value.  An alcoholic beverage may be
packaged with a nonalcoholic item without increasing the price of the
alcoholic beverage.

(E)(1) A retail permit holder shall not be prohibited by this rule, rule
4301:1-1-45 of the Administrative Code, or any other rule of the liquor
control commission from conducting a program to prevent alcoholic

ages or spirituous liquor in sealed containers in connection with manu-
facturing, storage, warehousing, placement or delivery, and in open
containers in connection with cleaning tables or handling empty bottles
or glasses.
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beverage sales to underage individuals  Under the program, the retail
permit holder may give the consumer an item that is not an alcoholic
beverage, which costs less than three dollars, for failure on the part of
the retail permit holder, their employee, or agent, to require the presen-
tation of identification prior to the consumer’s purchase of an alcoholic
beverage.

(2) The retail permit holder shall conduct this program only for the
purpose of requiring the presentation of an operator’s license,
chauffeur’s license, or an identification card, issued pursuant to sections
4507.50 to 4507.52 of the Revised Code, showing that the consumer is
of legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages.

(F) Notwithstanding the provisions of rule 4301:1-1-03 of the
Administrative Code, A-2, B-2, B-5, and retail permit holders may
calculate and advertise retail wine case prices as ten per cent off the
retail single bottle minimum price.

(G) Prohibition against sales at wholesale to persons who are not
retail permit holders.

(1) No wholesale distributor shall sell alcoholic beverages at
wholesale to a person who is not a retail permit holder.

(2) A wholesale distributor must verify that the person to whom they
are selling alcoholic beverages at wholesale is a retail permit holder.

(3) A wholesale distributor may receive written verification that a
person is a retail permit holder by contacting the liquor control commis-
sion or the division of liquor control, by mail, facsimile, or via the
division’s internet web site, which lists active and recently-canceled
permits.

(4) Written proof of such verification is an affirmative defense to a
citation issued to the wholesale distributor for selling alcoholic bever-
ages at wholesale to a non-permit holder, pursuant to rules 4301:1-1-
03 or 4301:1-1-72 of the Administrative Code.
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OHIO DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
DIVISION OF LIQUOR CONTROL

P.O. Box 4005
6606 Tussing Road

Reynoldsburg, OH  43068-9005
www.com.ohio.gov/liqr

Responsible for controlling the manufacture, distribution and sale of
all alcoholic beverages in Ohio.  The division is the state’s sole pur-
chaser and distributor of spirituous liquor.  Spirituous liquor is sold
through more than 430 private businesses, known as liquor agencies,
which are contracted by the division to serve as its sales agents.  Signifi-
cant sales and tax revenues are generated from the sale of spirituous
liquor.  These revenues are used to help fund a variety of programs
offered by various state agencies.

Regulatory functions include the issuance of permits to the state’s
approximately 24,000 privately owned and operated manufacturers,
distributors, and retailers of alcoholic beverages.  The division also
regulates industry compliance of the laws pertaining to the manufacture,
importation, and distribution of beer, wine, and mixed beverages con-
taining less than 21 percent alcohol by volume in Ohio.

PLEASE HAVE YOUR APPLICATION OR PERMIT NUMBER, PER-
MIT NAME AND ADDRESS WHEN CONTACTING THE DIVI-
SION.

Agency Operations Section  877-812-0013

Beer and Wine Section   614/644-2411

For general information:  (See specific units below)

Licensing Section  614/644-2360
                   Fax 614/644-3166



For information on closing authority/safekeeping, premises
expansions/deletions, food service requirements, inspection
requirments, permit privileges, and sanitation requirements:

Investigative Services Unit              614/644-2455
Frank Chung, Coordinator, Safe Alcohol Sales Training

For information on any pending new application:

New Processing Unit  614/644-3155

For information on annual renewal of permits, including
HB 231 tax delinquencies and operating privileges:

Renewal Processing Unit   614/644-3162

For information on the transfer of permit
privileges and the sale of the permit business:

Transfer Processing Unit   614/644-3155
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Responsible for the enforcement of the majority of Ohio’s liquor
laws and rules and conducting investigations at licensed and non-
licensed locations throughout the state.  The unit also has responsibility
for enforcing USDA food stamp laws and investigating allegations of
criminal misconduct involving food stamps, and has the authority to
investigate tobacco sales violations throughout the state.

Please contact this department for information on the laws relating
to advertising, after-hour sales, drugs, food stamps, gambling, happy
hour promotions, improper conduct/entertainment, sales to intoxicated
persons, Sunday sales, underage sales, tobacco sales, etc.

Enforcement agents from the Department of Public Safety issue
administrative citation notices to liquor permit holders for alleged
violations of Ohio’s liquor laws and rules.  These administrative citation
charges are heard before the Ohio Liquor Control Commission.
Department agents can also criminally charge individuals observed
breaking liquor laws or other related offenses.  They either arrest them
and take them into custody or, more commonly in lieu of arrest, issue a
summons to appear in court.  Criminal charges are heard in local court
and individuals found guilty are subject to fines or imprisonment.  Crimi-
nal charges against individuals under age 18 are heard in Juvenile Court
and are subject to punishment as ordered by the juvenile judge.

OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
OHIO INVESTIGATIVE UNIT

1970 W. Broad St., 4th Floor
Columbus, OH 43223

www.oiu.ohio.gov/

Enforcement HOTLINE to Report Violations            1-877-464-6677

Central Office    614/644-2415
1970 W. Broad St., 4th Fl.         Fax  614/644-2463
Columbus, OH 43223

Enforcement Offices:  http://www.oiu.ohio.gov/contact.stm



OHIO LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION
77 S. High St., 18th Floor

Columbus OH 43215

www.lcc.ohio.gov

The Ohio Liquor Control Commission is a neutral and independent
agency composed of three members appointed by the Governor to six-
year terms with the advise and consent of the Senate.  It serves both
judicial and legislative functions.

The commission hears citation cases concerning alleged violations of
Ohio’s liquor laws and rules.  The commission considers the merits of
each case and has the authority to suspend or revoke the liquor permit if
it finds the permit holder guilty.  The commission can also impose a
monetary fine in lieu of suspension depending upon the permit holder’s
prior citation record.  In addition, the commission hears appeals from
permit applicants or legislative authorities concerning actions or orders
of the Department of Commerce, Division of Liquor Control, as well as
appeals on the non-renewal of liquor permits for failure to pay sales
taxes.  Commission decisions are mailed within 45 days after the
hearing, and may be appealed to the Franklin County Court of Com-
mon Pleas.

The commission also has general policy-making powers, and
promulgates rules under the Ohio Administrative Code regarding liquor
production, sales restrictions, minimum sales mark-up, liquor advertising
and other matters related to the manufacture, distribution and sale of
beer, wine, and spirituous liquor.
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phone:  614/466-3132
Fax: 614/466-4564
http://www.lcc.ohio.gov/
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