
        
 

 
 

 
 

  
  

 
 

   
      
  
  
  
  
  

 
 

 
 

 
      

 
 
 

 
 

  
 

  
 

         
 

     
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
 

 
 

Requirements for an Ohio Real Estate Broker’s License
The applicant must hold an active salesperson license for two (2) of the last five (5) years and

comply with the following requirements:

• If licensed prior to 1/01/1972, no further education is due
• If licensed from 1/02/72 to 1/03/84, you must have taken the required 120 hours

(courses #1 - 4 listed below)
• If licensed on or after 1/03/84, you must have taken courses #1 - 8 listed below and

possess a minimum of two years of post-secondary education (#9), or the equivalenthours of 
sixty (60) semester or ninety (90) quarter hours.

Education Requirements
1. Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours)
2. Ohio Real Estate Principles & Practices (40 hours)
3. Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
4. Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
5. A Financial Management course
6. A Human Resources or Personnel Management course
7. An Applied Business Economics course
8. A Business Law course
9. A minimum of two years of post-secondary education, or equivalent hours of (60)

sixty semester or (90) ninety quarter hours. Courses #5 – 8 may be included in your 
postsecondary education

Experience Requirements – 20 transactions
The Division calculates the transactions to ensure the applicant meets a total of twenty byusing the 
following formulas:

• Listing agent in the sale of property owned by another = ½ transaction
• Selling agent in the sale of property owned by another = ½ transaction
• Listing agent in the lease of commercial or industrial real estate owned by another for

a term of at least one year = ½ transaction
• Procuring agent in the lease of commercial or industrial real estate owned by another

for a term of at least one year = ½ transaction
• Listing and /or procuring agent in the lease of four residential real estate properties

owned by another for a term of at least one-year = 1 transaction

An applicant for an Ohio broker’s license should submit:

1. A Broker Examination Application with $135.00 fee.
2. Proof of completion of all Education Requirements (A copy of official transcripts or

course completion certificates)

The applicant must also complete a criminal records check of both state & FBI records.  Information on 
performing a background check can be found on the Broker Examination Application.

Once the Division processes a complete application, the applicant’s information is sent to thetesting 
vendor. The testing vendor will process the information and send a Candidate
Information Bulletin with instructions on scheduling the exams.

The applicant must pass the State and National portions of the Ohio Real Estate Broker exam
in order for a license to be issued. Passing score: 75

For more information, contact the Ohio Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing at
614-466-4100.
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http://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/real_COM3578BrokerLicenseExaminationApplication.pdf



