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Real Estate Continuing Education
Classroom Course Application Instructions

e For each course, the initial application fee is $50. This fee is non-refundable and non-transferable. The
check/money order must be payable to: Ohio Division of Real Estate.

e The application form and fee must be submitted to the Division of Real Estate at least 45 days prior to
the proposed initial date of the offering.

e Applications must be typed or legibly handwritten in blue or black ink only. This is for your protection as
all course applications are scanned into a digital imaging system.

e The application must be signed by the person who is authorized to act for the offering entity.

¢ No offering will be approved in which classroom instruction exceeds more than eight clock hours in any
one day.

¢ An outline of the course must detail the content of the course, show the amount of time spent
instructing each subject and indicate any breaks of instruction that are taken where 60 minutes of
instruction is one clock hour.
NOTE: Time of non-instruction (breaks and lunches) is not counted toward the number of hours
you are requesting.

¢ If a date, time or location has not been determined, you may write in "To Be Determined." Once this
information has been confirmed, you must notify the Division, in writing, at least 10 days prior to the
proposed date to be registered in the Division’s system.

¢ The Ohio Real Estate Commission shall approve course offerings for continuing education credit ONLY
in the following areas:

o Real estate ethics;
o Legislative issues that influence real estate practice;
o Real estate laws and regulations, including licensing provisions and regulatory practices;
o Advanced real estate financing, including mortgages and other financing techniques;
o Real estate market measurement and evaluation, including site evaluations, market data, and
feasibility studies;
o Real property management, including leasing agreements, accounting procedures, and
management contracts;
o Land use planning and zoning;
o Real estate securities and syndication;
o Accounting and taxation as applied to real property;
o Land and community development and revitalization;
o Advanced real estate appraising;
o Real estate marketing procedures related specifically to actual real estate knowledge;
o Timeshares, condominiums and cooperatives;
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o Brokerage office management;

Use of technology and/or internet marketing as applied to the practice of real estate.

o Business administration including but not limited to business operations management, human
resources management and business taxation.

o Personal safety issues for the real estate agent and consumer;

o Real estate negotiation, general negotiation and real estate business and marketing
communication; and

o Cultural diversity as applied to the practice of real estate.
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e To register additional offerings of any approved courses after the initial offering, you must submit an
Additional Offering Application with a fee of $10 for each course offering listed on the application. This
application must be submitted (postmarked) at least 15 days prior to the offering date.

e Each offering entity must notify the Ohio Division of Real Estate, on the prescribed form, at least three
days in advance of any change in an offering date, location, time, instructor, or course content of an
approved course.

e All course providers must submit an attendance roster electronically through the Ohio Division of Real
Estate's website of all Ohio brokers and salespeople who successfully completed each course. The
roster must be submitted within 10 days after completion of the course. A userID and password will be
forwarded to the continuing education provider upon application approval.

e The offering entity shall furnish the attendee an attendance certificate within 30 days after completion of
the course offering.

e Course approval will be sent by email to the address listed on the application once the course has been
approved and will contain the course’s Ohio Certification Number and your assigned userlD and
password for the Division’s eLicense Center. If the course is denied, a letter will be mailed, via certified
mail, to the business address listed on the application explaining the reason for the denial and your
rights to appeal the denial.

NOTE: The Superintendent may deny or withdraw approval of a course for continuing education credit
for failure to comply with these requirements.

If you have any questions concerning this application or the requirements, please feel free to contact the
education compliance administrator at 614-466-3475.
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